TV Series

Pose: Season 2, Episode 6 “Love’s In Need of Love Today” – Recap, Review (with Spoilers)

Community Rating: 60.05% (3) | How This Number is Tabulated

“Love’s In Need of Love Today” is otherworldly in more ways than one as a death scare leads to Pray Tell seeing an old frenemy.


Network
FX
Director(s)Tina Mabry
Writer(s)Our Lady J, Brad Falchuk
Air Date7/23/2019

Images and text in this post may contain affiliate links which, if a purchase is made, we’ll earn money or products from the company. Affiliate links and external links have an upward facing, superscript, arrow.

Recap

If It Ain’t One Thing, It’s Another: Blanca, Pray Tell, Judy

Thanks to AZT, Pray Tell’s platelets (they form clots to help you from internally bleeding and bruising) are low, and he faints at a ball. With that happening, he finds himself unable to plan his AIDS Cabaret and so the work is left to Blanca. Someone battling her guilt for pushing Pray Tell to go on AZT and surprisingly not going gray from all the stress she is under between running a business and planning this event.

Pray Tell, This Is Your Life: Candy, Costas, Pray Tell

But perhaps Pray Tell needed a break? One which comes from being hit with a sedative when he is placed next to someone dying. Leading to little Miss Candy showing up and solidifying her place as Pray Tell’s grim reaper. One who doesn’t make the afterlife seem all that bad but Pray Tell doesn’t really want to go there. The place has his rapist of a stepfather, who preyed on him since he was 12, and while Costas is there, the place clearly isn’t for those who still have it in them to live.

Candy looking fancy as she haunts Pray Tell.

Though a fun fact, for a lack of a better term, we learn while there is that Candy had AIDS. Now, why do we learn this after death? I can’t say. At best, let’s just call it backtracking so that even if Candy didn’t get fleshed out much when alive, she can be more than quick wit, ready to cut someone, queen.

Singing, Dancing, & A B*** Stealing Pearls: Frederica, Blanca, Pray Tell

Frederica remains a serious piece of work. One who seemingly wanted to extend an olive branch, join the cabaret, maybe turn over a new leaf, but that was all a ruse. What she wanted was Blanca far away from her shop so that she could guy the place, board it up, and chain the doors. All the while enjoying the cabaret, even performing and seeming like a gracious outsider.

However, Blanca doesn’t take being made a fool of and writes it off. HELL NAH! Her house calls out Frederica, in front of her old shop, and thanks to Pray Tell, fresh from a duet and the hospital, he gets the other houses, including Wintour, to help protest and cause issues for Frederica. Someone who was not expecting any serious backlash.

Question(s) Left Unanswered

  1. Is Candy in heaven or hell? She says to Pray Tell she’ll see him in hell, but she makes where she is sound quite lovely. Well, minus the fact Pray Tell’s step-father is there.
  2. Where was Blanca’s employees while the salon was being gutted or did she not hire anyone yet?
  3. Will Pray Tell’s childhood be addressed more or was this a one-off thing?
  4. What happened to Pray Tell’s dreams of designing clothes? Why isn’t Blanca pushing that?

Review

Highlights

The Singing!

Frederica singing showtunes.

I’m not a Broadway baby and, as shown by the few I have gone to, I don’t venture too far away from jukebox musicals. Yet, I must admit I loved the performances this episode. Couldn’t tell you any of the songs sang, but it really makes you appreciate how versatile each actor is.

I gotta say though, I will forever be thrown off when I hear Blanca sing because there is such a disconnect when she goes from her talking voice to singing voice.

The Community Coming Together

While we’ve seen the community come together for death, many times, it’s nice to see them also come together to fight for or against something. We don’t see a huge amount of battles for the living on this show which aren’t solo or just with their close family. So to see a close rank moment for Blanca’s establishment was sweet and definitely sets the second half of the season on a high note.

Addressing Pray Tell’s Past Life

When you think about it, outside of Blanca and Damon, we don’t really know or have seen much of anyone’s families. We just are left assuming they were disowned, kicked out, and abandoned. So while it was short and traumatic, learning a bit of Pray Tell’s past was nice. Here is hoping, as his, and others, have a perilous future, we may get to learn their past – before they possibly die.

Blanca and Angel’s Relationship

While only in one scene, you have to really admire the special relationship the two have. For while Pray Tell has this father or older brother thing going, between a mother or younger sister, there is just a distinct dynamic between Angel and Blanca which makes you believe, if the show ever goes there Angel has to play the role Blanca usually does. As much as she wants to break down into a pool of her own tears.

On The Fence

The Return of Candy

Speaking of the dead, while I do love seeing Miss Candy, the sudden reveal of AIDS and her playing a ghost gives me pause. If only because it seems like they are backtracking now, filling in the blanks of a character who was more one-liners than a fully formed character. Which I appreciate, to a point, but considering how devasting her death was, this whole ghost thing takes away from it. Also, it pinches a nerve since it teases the idea Pray Tell could die soon. After all, can you imagine Candy showing up throughout this season, and the next, being the gremlin on Pray Tell’s shoulder asking if he wants to die now or still postpone the journey?

Follow Wherever I Look on Twitter, Like us on Facebook and Subscribe to the YouTube Channel.

Pose - Episode List

Character Guide

Not Created

Collected Quotes

Created

Purchase On/ Get A Free Trial Here

Current Status

Active

Season Reviews

Season 1

Season/ EpisodeSynopsisEpisode InformationTopics & Focused Characters
Season 2, Episode 9 “Life’s A Beach”Elektra becomes the mother and person we expected to see, after the time jump, as she takes her daughters out to recover from a harsh summer.
Director(s)Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s)Janet Mock, Our Lady J
Air Date8/13/2019
Introduced This Episode
AdrianAustin Scott
  • My Name Is Blanca, And This Is My Rock Bottom: Frederica, Blanca
  • When You’re Good To Momma, Momma’s Good To You: Elektra, Blanca, Lulu, Angel
  • So This Is Love?: Adrian, Blanca, Angel, Elektra, Lulu, Candy
Season 2, Episode 10 "In My Heels" [Season Finale]You already know if Janet Mock is writing or directing you are going to be shedding tears. Add in she is doing the season finale? HA! Grab some tissues, we’re crying together.
Director(s)Janet Mock
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date8/20/2019
Introduced This Episode
QuincyKJ Aikens
ChillyGia Parr
JazminDamaris Lewis
  • Blanca, Pray Tell, Elektra, Lulu, Angel, Lil Papi, Damon, Frederica | A Sickly Mother
  • Lil Papi, Ms. Ford, Angel, Jazmin | When In Doubt, Trust Papi
  • Angel, Lil Papi, Quincy, Chilly, Blanca, Elektra, Pray Tell | There Is More Than One Way To Tell A Happy Ending
Season 2, Episode 8 “Revelations”Line are crossed, secrets exposed, and children reveal themselves to be adults. Which, for Blanca, is one of the challenges she never prepped for.
Director(s)Steven Canals
Writer(s)Steven Canals
Air Date8/6/2019
Introduced This Episode
ManhattanAndré Ward
JackJack Mizrahi
CastleJ. Cameron Barnett
  • Progress For One May Not Be Progress For All:Pray Tell, Manhattan, Jack, Castle, Ricky, Damon, Helena, Blanca, Angel, Lil Papi
  • When The Shade Comes From Acid Rain: Blanca, Damon, Lil Papi, Angel, Blanca, Pray Tell, Ricky
  • They All Grow Up Eventually: Pray Tell, Ricky, Elektra, Blanca, Angel, Damon
Season 2, Episode 5 “What Would Candy Do?”With the opportunity to dance for Madonna coming up, Elektra and Blanca show who they are as Damon and Ricky grow close, once again.
Director(s)Tina Mabry
Writer(s)Steven Canals
Air Date7/16/2019
  • A New Opportunity: Ricky, Blanca, Elektra, Damon, Helena
  • A Haus Is Not Always A Home: Ricky, Blanca, Elektra, Damon
  • Forgiven, Not Forgotten: Ricky, Damon
Season 2, Episode 6 “Love’s In Need of Love Today”“Love’s In Need of Love Today” is otherworldly in more ways than one as a death scare leads to Pray Tell seeing an old frenemy.
Director(s)Tina Mabry
Writer(s)Our Lady J, Brad Falchuk
Air Date7/23/2019
  • If It Ain’t One Thing, It’s Another: Blanca, Pray Tell, Judy
  • Pray Tell, This Is Your Life: Candy, Costas, Pray Tell
  • Singing, Dancing, & A B*** Stealing Pearls:Frederica, Blanca, Pray Tell
Season 2, Episode 7 “Blow”Unlike many times before, the community comes together not when it is down or recoiling, but while standing tall, and with elders watching over them.
Director(s)Jennie Livingston
Writer(s)Janet Mock
Air Date7/30/2019
  • The Children Need More Than Mothas, They Need Elders: Lulu, Elektra, Blanca, Pray Tell, Damon, Ricky
  • Blanca Might Be The Favorite, But She’s Grown Now: Lulu, Blanca, Pray Tell, Ricky
  • When We Come Together, It Will Be Joyous: Lil Papi, Angel, Federica, Blanca, Ms. Ford
Season 2, Episode 4 "Never Knew Love Like This Before"While Pose has always kept it real to the hairline, it decides to get a bit too real, and you may not be prepared for what comes.
Director(s)Ryan Murphy
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Janet Mock
Air Date7/9/2019
Introduced This Episode
DarnellDanny Johnson
VivicaPatrice Johnson Chevannes
  • AZT For You & For Me: Blanca, Pray Tell, Judy
  • Sister, You Been On My Mind: Lulu, Candy, Blanca, Pray Tell, Angel, Darnell, Vivica
  • 10s Across The Board: Candy
Season 1/ Episode 1 “Pilot” [Series Premiere]Pose is so wonderful that you’ll wish Ryan Murphy and co. held this for Netflix so that we could get all the episodes in one sitting.
CreatorRyan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Director(s)Ryan Murphy
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date6/3/2018
Noted Actors
BlancaMj Rodriguez
DamonRyan Jamaal Swain
AngelIndya Moore
StanEvan Peters
Pray TellBilly Porter
Season 1/ Episode 2 “Access”Finding a way to go beyond surviving but absolutely thriving is either what is pursued or talked about. Though for some, thriving is a suburban fairytale.
Director(s)Ryan Murphy
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date6/10/2018
Actors Introduced
RickyDyllon Burnside
Lil PapiAngel Bismark Curiel
MattJames Van Der Beek
  • A Whole New World: Ricky, Blanca, Damon, Lil’ Papi
  • I’ve Been Waiting For A Girl Like You: Stan, Angel, Matt
  • Pass The Baton: Elektra, Blanca
Season 1/ Episode 3 “Giving and Receiving”It’s Christmas time and as Elektra gives herself a gift, House of Evangelista makes sure everyone gets one. 
Director(s)Nelson Cragg
Writer(s)Janet Mock, Our Lady J
Air Date6/17/2018
Actors Introduced
TonyGlamo
CostasJohnny Sibilly
PattyKate Mara
  • Melting Away Like Snowflakes: Helena, Damon, Pray Tell, Blanca
  • A Fish With A Tail: Elektra
  • Merry Christmas: Matt, Stan, Angel, Blanca, Pray Tell, Damon, Ricky, Patty
Season 1/ Episode 4 “The Fever”Elektra and Pray Tell take center stage as realness becomes about more than just the physical but addressing how you feel and are inside.
Director(s)Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s)Janet Mock
Air Date6/24/2018
Actors Introduced
Dick FordChristopher Meloni
AphroditeAlexia Garcia
CandyAngelica Ross
  • Fears and Insecurities: Damon, Candy, Ricky, Lil Papi, Blanca, Pray Tell, Elektra, Angel
  • Dissatisfaction With Being a Mistress: Stan, Angel
  • The Doctor Will See You Now: Pray Tell, Elektra, Blanca, Aphrodite, Dick Ford, Candy
Season 1/ Episode 5 “Mother’s Day”With news of Blanca’s biological mother dying, so comes a quest for reconciliation, even if some make it harder than others.
Director(s)Silas Howard
Writer(s)Steven Canals
Air Date7/1/2018
Actors Introduced
CarmenFlor De Liz Perez
AlmaSusanna Guzman
ManuelGil Perez-Abraham
MamiGlenys Javier
Young BlancaJayden Marine
  • Meet The Wife: Matt, Stan, Patty, Angel
  • A Mother Reborn: Elektra, Blanca, Candy, Lulu
  • The Path To Reconciliation: Blanca, Pray Tell, Carmen, Alma, Manuel
Season 1/ Episode 6 “Love Is The Message”Pray Tell gets center focus as we come upon the final days of his boyfriend, Costas. Though, we also get to see someone try to dust Blanca’s cobwebs.
Director(s)Janet Mock
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Janet Mock
Air Date7/8/2018
Actors Introduced
JudySandra Bernhard
DariusCharles Brice
  • The Fall of Stan Bowes: Patty, Matt, Stan, Angel
  • Mama May Get Some Beef: Blanca, Darius, Lulu, Candy
  • In His Final Days, He Made Me Promise To Love: Blanca, Pray Tell, Costas, Judy
Season 1/ Episode 7 “Pink Slip”As the House of Abundance falls, a new house rises from the ashes. One which takes advantage of what either could be seen as a mistake or right decision by Blanca.
Director(s)Tina Mabry
Writer(s)Our Lady J, Steven Canals
Air Date7/15/2018
  • Laying Down The Law: Blanca, Lil Papi, Ricky
  • As the Phoenix Dies, New Ones Rise From The Ashes: Elektra, Lulu, Candy, Mr. Ford
  • The End of One Relationship & Start Of Something New: Lil Papi, Angel, Stan, Blanca, Elektra, Lulu, Candy
Season 1/ Episode 8 “Mother of the Year” [Season Finale]The final category is: Mother of the Year and considering all Blanca has done for her children, even her mother, will she win or will there always be next year?
Director(s)Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date7/22/2018
Actors Introduced
KeenanBlake Morris
  • Love Never Dies: Blanca, Keenan, Pray Tell
  • Family Is Forever: Elektra, Blanca, Angel, Stan, Patty
  • Mother of the Year: Blanca, Lulu, Candy, Pray Tell, Elektra
Season 2, Episode 2 “Worth It”After a long period, years, of making herself smaller, Elektra is reborn. As that happens, Blanca too reaches new heights as she finally opens her nail salon.
Director(s)Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s)Janet Mock
Air Date6/18/2019
Introduced This Episode
Ms. NormanPatti LuPone
  • She Works Hard For Her Money, So She Expects Luxury:Elektra
  • It Was Due To Happen: Damon, Ricky, Lil Papi, Angel
  • Everything’s Coming Up Blanca!: Ms. Norman, Blanca, Pray Tell, Damon, Ricky
Season 2, Episode 3 “Butterfly/Cocoon”As we are given multiple reasons to celebrate, there is one major blemish that will likely ruin the in-house parade you’ll be having.
Director(s)Janet Mock
Writer(s)Our Lady J
Air Date6/25/2019
Introduced This Episode
EuphoriaPeppermint
Ms. OrlandoCecilia Gentili
  • Don’t Tell The Boss, The Client Is Dead!: Euphoria, Ms. Orlando, Elektra, Blanca, Candy
  • Wet N’ Wild: Ms. Ford, Papi, Angel
  • A Papi After My Own Heart: Papi, Angel
Season 2, Episode 1 “Acting Up” [Season Premiere]The ladies of Pose return, and with the AIDS crisis in full effect, those who aren’t about the community and taking advantage of “Vogue” giving spotlight are called out.
Director(s)Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date6/11/2019
  • Someone Must Speak For The Dead: Judy, Pray Tell, Blanca
  • It Can’t All Be Sacrifice: Angel, Lil Papi, Blanca
  • Not All Queer Folk Are Kin Folk: Pray Tell, Elektra, Blanca, Candy, Lulu
Blanca and Angel's Relationship - 80%
The Singing! - 89%
The Community Coming Together - 85%
Addressing Pray Tell’s Past Life - 84%
The Return of Candy - 75%

83%

What Would Your Rating Be?

Negative Mixed Positive
Negative  (33%) Mixed  (0%) Positive  (67%)

Amari Allah

I started Wherever I Look back in 2011 and have aimed to be that friend who loves watching various forms of media and talking about it. So, from bias, strong opinions, and a perspective you may not have thought about, you'll find that in our reviews.

Questions, Comments or Difference of Opinion?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button