TV Series

The Good Doctor: Season 3, Episode 5 “First Care, Second Base” – Recap, Review (with Spoilers)

Community Rating: 58.28% (6) | How This Number is Tabulated

A familiar face reappears this episode as Shaun deals with everyone pushing him to feel anxiety or be nervous over his first lead surgery.


Network
ABC, CTV
Director(s)Rebecca Moline
Writer(s)David Hoselton
Air Date10/21/2019

Images and text in this post may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase, we may earn a commission or products from the company.

Recap

Instead Of Making Compromise Dirty, Let’s Make It Naughty: Shaun, Carly, Debbie, Dr. Glassman

Carly still is trying to navigate how to be intimate with Shaun and maybe have some sort of spontaneity to their sex life. This is a difficult task for both since Carly is dealing with a learning curve and with Shaun not having much in the way of relationship experience, and probably not having a lot of experience with intimacy, he is green. I mean, just someone wanting to kiss him on a regular basis is a major win for him. So getting to grab a breast, that’s something he has to mentally get used to. Never mind being expected to adapt to how most pursue something passionate and explicit. But, he is willing to learn.

As for Dr. Glassman? Once again, his stubbornness makes it seem he really jumped the gun, no pun intended, when it comes to marrying Debbie. Why? Well, apparently she is a gun owner, and guns make Dr. Glassman uncomfortable. Leading him to do, as we’ve seen Shaun do before, take advice from multiple people but hone in on the one which could give him the result he wants – which is Debbie getting rid of her gun.

However, after a fancy security system, and multiple conversations, he seems to think the nuclear option is all that is left. That is until Shaun helps him realize, getting to touch her breast is worth more than the argument, and possible breakup, that can come from the nuclear option.

Question(s) Left Unanswered
  1. While we are aware of Lea, and that traumatizing moment when Shaun was a teenager, how many other experiences has he had with kissing a girl or intimacy, in general?

Can We Include “Loss of Hope” In The Stages of Grief?: Morgan, Claire

Claire while talking to Morgan.

Thanks to a patient Claire and Morgan are working on, this drums up Claire’s issues with her mother’s death and having faith in people. An idea Morgan doesn’t like for she doesn’t like seeing Claire like this, and while she understands Claire doesn’t like when people make a fuss about her, she can see Claire is getting worse. Which makes Claire admitting she feels like she played a part in her mother’s death the kind of revelation which will either be the first step in the healing process or just be the warning shot before she deep dives into the darkness.

Question(s) Left Unanswered
  1. How often does everyone switch who they are paired with? I ask since I wouldn’t mind seeing Shaun and Morgan paired up again.

Even In Death, I’ll Be There: Shaun, Dr. Lim, Dr. Andrews, Alex

Nearly everyone is trying to push Shaun to feel nervous. Alex because he is jealous that his case got handed to Shaun, and many others due to expecting some form of anxiety. In time, this kind of gets to Shaun, but more so because Dr. Andrews decides to disrespect Dr. Lim’s authority more than anything else.

You see, Dr. Lim wants to ease Shaun into being the lead surgeon and take note of some of Shaun’s weaknesses. Dr. Andrews, on the other hand, wants Shaun thrown into the fire. It isn’t clear if this is part of his anger for losing his job defending Shaun, and still wrestling with that decision, or if he truly does feel Dr. Lim is ruining Shaun by not making sure he is challenged?

For the way he makes it seem, as a diagnostician, Shaun is ace. Hence why he was moved to pathology before. However, as a surgeon, one who has to use a soft touch with certain patients, Shaun still needs work and autistic or not, Dr. Andrews seems to want Shaun to figure a way to work around his disorder.

This challenge, as you can imagine, isn’t easy for Shaun. Especially since Dr. Andrews decides to override Dr. Lim, while Alex is talking to a patient, and forces Shaun to deliver bad news. It also doesn’t help that Dr. Andrews, when Shaun freaks out during surgery, is ready to swap him out instead of work with him.

Leading to Dr. Lim getting involved and, with Alex, calming Shaun down and them discovering he found a better method to treat the patient, it is just he isn’t experienced enough to lead the surgery. Ultimately creating a moment when Dr. Andrews should have been reprimanded, but instead, Dr. Lim reminds him that to get things done they need to be a team – and she sadly leaves it at that.

 

Review

Highlights

Steve’s Return

I’m still flummoxed about why we haven’t seen more of Steve and Shaun’s teen years. It’s a huge gap that leaves so many questions, especially in regards to life with Dr. Glassman and his college years. So while Steve’s appearance didn’t answer those questions, Dylan Kingwell is always a welcome actor. Here is hoping, though, as Shaun learns about intimacy of the physical sense, Carly may also challenge him to deal with intimacy, of the emotional sense, as well.

Steve (Dylan Kingwell) making an appearance.
Steve (Dylan Kingwell)

Specifically, I’d love for her to push Shaun to talk about Steve, his parents, and down the road, maybe not push him to get in contact with his dad, the reason he and Steve ran away, but maybe his mom. Yes, she stood by and let this all happen, but considering the temper of Shaun and Steve’s dad, there is a good chance she was trying to protect them the only way she could and didn’t have the tools to leave. Even in terms of leaving with her children to keep them safe.

On The Fence

The Handling Of Claire’s Grief

Being that Claire isn’t the most energetic of characters, a part of me likes her being “bitchy,” as Morgan puts it, just because it means she doesn’t have this chill vibe and almost monotone voice. However, there is a need to question where is this going? Not just for her, but Morgan as well. For as much as these characters add value to the show, I can’t really say there has been any consistent investment in them as people.

Now, you can refute that by noting Claire’s mother and that relationship and the one she had with Jared. I’d counter with the storyline dealing with Dr. Coyle that went poof and how it seems anytime she has a storyline which could make you feel Claire is growing as a character, it is clipped at the knees. Which can also be said about Morgan. Her grandpa we saw a few episodes ago at the hospital, and we haven’t seen or heard about him since. Not even in terms of Morgan trying to help Claire mourn to prep herself for her own grandfather’s demise. He is just gone with no mention of what happened to him.

The Conversation Around Gun Ownership

While I don’t own a gun, at the same time, I must admit it is annoying how shows like this and The Bold Type like to shame gun owners. Not to imply I’m a member of the NRA or don’t believe in gun control but the fact all Debbie said was not considered at all was annoying. Especially since Debbie and Dr. Glassman don’t have children or grandchildren, so the only people who’d ever would touch that gun are them. Also, from the way Dr. Glassman handled the gun, he knows how to handle a weapon, if need be.

So one can only hope the show doesn’t make it a pattern of showing Dr. Glassman should have took his time before getting married. Because, while kind of funny at first, this is getting old quick.

How Everyone Treated Shaun, As A Doctor, This Episode

Dr. Andrews talking about Shaun walking out of the surgery.

Generally, I err on the side of thinking this show bends too much to accommodate Shaun. However, in this episode, the pendulum swing the opposite way and was plain old ridiculous. Whether it was everyone trying to push him to be anxious, how Dr. Andrews coerced him to talk to a patient about her diagnosis, with no prep or Dr. Park being an ass, just to be petty, there were a lot of inappropriate moments going on.

Dr. Lim Should Have Been Harder On Dr. Andrews

But, here is the thing I wanted to see and was disappointed that we didn’t get: Dr. Andrews being reprimanded. For bad enough so many pushed Shaun to envision a dead person to calm him down, a trait he seems to share with Dr. Glassman, but Dr. Andrews, repeatedly, undermining Dr. Lim should have led to something stern being said. After all, considering his former positions, it seemed like he needed to be reminded of his place. Much less, while he is one of many molding Shaun, it is inappropriate to throw your peer, student or not, into a situation they aren’t prepped for.

Even Morgan at her worst wasn’t that cruel.

 

Season/ EpisodeSynopsisEpisode InformationTopics & Focused Characters
Season 3, Episode 5 “First Care, Second Base”A familiar face reappears this episode as Shaun deals with everyone pushing him to feel anxiety or be nervous over his first lead surgery.
Director(s)Rebecca Moline
Writer(s)David Hoselton
Air Date10/21/2019
  • Instead Of Making Compromise Dirty, Let’s Make It Naughty: Shaun, Carly, Debbie, Dr. Glassman
  • Can We Include “Loss of Hope” In The Stages of Grief?: Morgan, Claire
  • Even In Death, I’ll Be There: Shaun, Dr. Lim, Dr. Andrews, Alex
Season 3, Episode 4 “Take My Hand”Claire and Morgan share another moment because of Breeze and Shaun, alongside Dr. Glassman, deal with their fear, and/or stubbornness.
Director(s)Tara Nicole Weyr
Writer(s)Doris Egan
Air Date10/14/2019
Introduced This Episode
LilyJennifer Lafleur
Mitchell StewartJoshua Malina
JonasMark Hildreth
  • Who Knew Compromise Was Such A Dirty Word?: Mitchell, Shaun, Carly
  • Love Is About…: Debbie, Dr. Glassman, Shaun, Carly
  • Amazing Grace: Morgan, Lily, Jonas, Claire
Season 3, Episode 3 “Claire”Someone once said that for every person you steal from death, they take one personal to you. Claire learns that lesson this episode.
Director(s)Allison Liddi-Brown
Writer(s)Liz Friedman, Tracy Taylor
Air Date10/7/2019
Introduced This Episode
MichelleKyla-Drew
PatriciaTracie Thoms
Dr. DonovanIris Quinn
  • Butt Out: Shaun, Claire, Carly
  • Mommy & Me: Claire, Breeze, Michelle, Patricia, Dr. Donovan. Dr. Lim, Shaun, Morgan
  • It Was The Best Of Times And Worst Of Times: Claire, Breeze
Season 3, Episode 1 “Disaster” [Season Premiere]We got through Shaun’s date with Carly, that he says is a disaster, as cases Shaun and Morgan work on put things in perspective.
Director(s)Mike Listo
Writer(s)David Shore
Air Date9/23/2019
Introduced This Episode
Nurse PetringaKarin Konoval
HarveyJohn Innes
RubyJenny O’Hara
SusanneSophia Lauchlin Hirt
Susanne’s HusbandAren Buchholz
  • All That Matters Is He Remembers He Was Happy: Harvey, Ruby, Alex, Morgan
  • Difficult Conversations: Nurse Petringa, Dr. Lim, Dr. Andrews, Shaun, Claire, Dr. Melendez, Susanne, Dr. Glassman, Allegra
  • The Disastrous Date: Carly, Shaun
Season 3, Episode 2 “Debts”Shaun continues to be pressed by everyone to give dating another chance as Dr. Andrews tries to embrace his demotion.
Director(s)Mike Listo
Writer(s)Peter Noah
Air Date9/30/2019
Introduced This Episode
JoshMik Byskov
OliviaTina Georgieva
  • A Fight For Prominence: Morgan, Alex, Dr. Lim
  • The Balance of Being Selfish & Selfless: Dr. Lim, Dr. Andrews, Josh, Shaun, Olivia
  • You Gotta Get Back Into The Saddle: Shaun, Lea, Debbie, Claire, Breeze, Dr. Glassman, Carly
Season 2, Episode 18 “Trampoline”The unexpected happens for Shaun in a multitude of ways, including him taking the kind of leap we’ve been waiting for a long time.
Season 2, Episode 17 “Breakdown”

Shaun tries to assert himself with Dr. Han as he feels largely unsupported. As that happens, Dr. Lim and Melendez contemplate coming out.

Director(s)Mike Listo
Writer(s)Thomas L. Moran, Lloyd Gilyard, Jr.
Air Date3/4/2019
Introduced This Episode
LauraJoy Osmanski
  • Brown Noser: Claire, Morgan, Dr. Park
  • When You Really Love Someone: Laura, Dr. Lin, Dr. Melendez, Shaun
  • Why Does No One Understand Me?: Shaun, Lea, Claire, Dr. Han
Season 2, Episode 16 “Believe”Everyone is forced to be an advocate in some form, but the big challenge for many is being an advocate for themselves.
Director(s)Alrick Riley
Writer(s)Sal Calleros, Karen Struck
Air Date2/25/2019
Introduced This Episode
ClarenceSpencer Garrett
Dr. Carly LeverJasika Nicole

  • Do You Believe In Miracles: Claire, Morgan, Dr. Melendez
  • I’m Still Here: Carly, Shaun, Debbie, Dr. Glassman
  • Are We Not Communicating?: Dr, Han, Shaun
Season 2, Episode 15 “Risk and Reward”A new chief of surgery comes about, and his style disrupts Shaun’s life as much as a talkative guy when Dr. Glassman gets chemotherapy.
Season 2, Episode 14 “Faces”Guilt and regrets are prominent themes and emotions in “Faces” as old, and new, faces enter the characters’ lives.
Season 2/ Episode 13 “XIN”
Director(s)David Straiton
Writer(s)Brian Shin
Air Date1/28/2019
Introduced This Episode
GraceVedette Lim
SunnyEmily Kuroda
TeresaSheena Chou
JaviAlex Plank
LanaVered Blonstein

Shaun finds himself confronted with the idea of being alone as he works with a patient who has autism, and a relationship, as well as Lea and Dr. Glassman asking for space.
Season 2/ Episode 12 “Aftermath”
Director(s)Dawn Wilkinson
Writer(s)Thomas L. Moran
Air Date1/21/2019
Introduced This Episode
Governor’s RepresentativeCheryl White
JakeAndres Joseph
CarmelGarfield Wilson
MiaJennifer Birmingham Lee

While a lot of people heal old wounds, even find loved ones, some are left as lonely as they were when we first met them.

Season 2/ Episode 11 “Quarantine (Part 2)”

More people die, and there are moments in which the winter premiere of The Good Doctor will have you shed tears.

Season 2/ Episode 10 “Quarantine” [Mid-Season Finale]

The mid-season finale is all about building anticipation as people die left and right and you wonder, will a main cast member be written off?

Director(s)Mike Listo
Writer(s)Liz Friedman, Lloyd Gilyard, Jr.
Air Date12/3/2018
Introduced This Episode
TylerDan Byrd
KellanRicky He

Season 2/ Episode 9 “Empathy”

Dr. Andrews finally decides who will be chief of surgery as the residents deal with emotionally, and morally, challenging patients.

Director(s)Joanna Kerns
Writer(s)Karen Struck
Air Date11/26/2018

Season 2/ Episode 8 “Stories”

Dr. Andrews pops his head back in to address a Claire situation and Dr. Park’s past continues to be danced around. Also, it is revealed Morgan has friends.

Director(s)Michael Patrick Jann
Writer(s)Sal Calleros
Air Date11/19/2018

Season 2/ Episode 6 “Two-Ply (or Not Two-Ply)

The value of emotional intelligence plays a big part not just for patients, but the personal lives of doctors.

Director(s)Tara Nicole Weyr
Writer(s)Simran Baidwan
Air Date11/5/2018
Introduced This Episode
RileyCaitlin Carmichael
JasSupinder Wraich

Featuring: Dr. Glassman, Debbie, Lea, Shaun, Morgan, Riley, Jas, Claire, Dr. Park, Dr. Lim, Dr. Melendez, Shaun

Season 2/ Episode 7 “Hubert”

As we learn Claire does have a life outside of the hospital, two brothers trigger Shaun’s memories of not just Steve but his father.

Director(s)Marisol Adler
Writer(s)David Renaud
Air Date11/12/2018
Introduced This Episode
KaylaRachel Boston
DashJohn Patrick Amedori
SantiagoHemky Madera
ArmandoGonzalo Menendez

Featuring: Dr. Glassman, Lea, Shaun, Armando, Santiago, Morgan, Kayla, Dash, Claire, Dr. Melendez

Season 2/ Episode 5 "Carrots"

Present and future relationships are being established and tested as people take leaps or push some out of their comfort zone.


Director(s)Sharat Raju
Writer(s)Liz Friedman
Air Date10/29/2018

Featuring: Shaun, Lea, Dr. Lim, Dr. Park, Dr. Glassman, Debbie, Dr. Blaize, Claire, and Dr. Melendez

Season 2/ Episode 4 “Tough Titmouse”

Everyone’s baggage becomes an issue and while some unpack and deal with it, others barely unpack and just try to not let it hold them back.

Season 2/ Episode 2 “Middle Ground”

With Lea back, combined with Dr. Glassman’s diagnosis, and Dr. Melendez deciding to test Shaun’s bedside manner, something is bound to give.

Season 2/ Episode 3 “36 Hours”

Things get a bit heated as Claire and Nurse Flores become assertive and the men in power positions not only question their judgement but say borderline offensive things.

Season 2/ Episode 1 “Hello”

Dr. Andrews first task as president is yearly reviews. Which, for many, the criticism helps both their professional and personal lives.

Season 1/ Episode 1 “Burnt Food”

Not since Anne (also known as Anne with an E on Netflix) has a show grabbed ahold of me like The Good Doctor may also do to you.

Season 1/ Episode 2 “Mount Rushmore”

Despite Dr. Melendez still neglecting Shaun, Steve's influence continues to make Shaun the best doctor he can be.

Season 1/ Episode 3 “Oliver”

While we are left with the lesson that you can’t win them all, there is a rebuttal in there about still, at the very least, trying.

Season 1/ Episode 4 “Pipes”

As Dr. Andrews takes more to Shaun, Dr. Melendez finds himself part of another procedure with legal repercussions.

Season 1/ Episode 5 “Point Three Percent”

There is a child who looks like Steve in the hospital. As you can imagine, that means you need to prepare your tissues.

Season 1/ Episode 6 “Not Fake”

What begins as an episode showing our favorite residents rise to the occasion leaves them all with hard lessons to learn.

Season 1/ Episode 7 “22 Steps”

In another tear-inducing episode, Shaun encounters an autistic person with an ideal family and his peers deal with grieving over patients.

Season 1/ Episode 8 “Apple”

Admitting you are wrong & dealing with guilt are the focus of the episode. And not just within everyone’s professional life

Season 1/ Episode 9 “Intangibles”

With a mistake which could lead to a lawsuit and another a child’s death, it seems more people might be visiting Dr. Mohan – alongside Jessica.

Season 1/ Episode 10 “Sacrifice”

Shaun finally seems to succumb to the pressure he is under but not because of the work. Rather, it is because of Dr. Glassman.

Season 1 (First Half)

The first half of ABC's The Good Doctor is a consistently tear-inducing saga with very few issues to name.

Season 1/ Episode 11 “Islands: Part One”

Conjoined twins set up an episode about separating from your past to discover a more fulfilling future.

Season 1/ Episode 12 “Islands: Part 2”

Jessica finally is given some oomph and, for the first time, we experience patients for more than one episode.

Season 1/ Episode 13 “Seven Reasons”

As Shaun, almost annoyingly, points out the obvious and shows his own bias, Claire decides to pursue Dr. Coyle being properly punished

Season 1/ Episode 14 “She”

A new resident seemingly will act as some sort of villain for the show and alongside her introduction is that of what trans youth go through. Especially in terms of medical issues.

Season 1/ Episode 15 “Heartfelt”

Shaun gains invaluable lessons from Morgan, unexpected kindness from Dr. Andrews, and poor Claire experiences a moment she didn’t see coming.

Season 1/ Episode 16 “Pain”

2nd chances at happiness are a big thing this episode. Especially in regards to Shaun’s friend Kenny and the arrival of Claire’s mom. But, of course, not everyone deserves a 2nd shot.

Season 1/ Episode 17 “Smile”

The upside of a situation is what everyone is trying to find but, as you can figure out, not everyone can end the episode happy. Much less satisfied.

Season 1/ Episode 18 “More”

Setting aside the life or death situation of Dr. Glassman, Shaun creates a problem that may give him and Dr. Glassman something bigger to worry about.

Season 1

The Good Doctor starts strong but as you get used to the tear-jerking patients and moments of the hospital staff, you begin to see flaws which can use some patching up.

Dr. Lim Should Have Been Harder On Dr. Andrews - 70%
How Everyone Treated Shaun, As A Doctor, This Episode - 71%
The Conversation Around Gun Ownership - 75%
The Handling Of Claire’s Grief - 74%
Steve’s Return - 8%

60%

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.



What Would Your Rating Be?

Negative Mixed Positive
Negative  (0%) Mixed  (50%) Positive  (50%)

You Can Find The Podcast On All Major Platforms



Amari Allah

I started Wherever I Look back in 2011 and have aimed to be that friend who loves watching various forms of media and talking about it. So, from bias, strong opinions, and a perspective you may not have thought about, you'll find that in our reviews.

7 Comments

  1. Regarding Dr. Andrews and Shaun – You’re right in that Dr. Andrews totally and repeatedly overstepped. And you’re right in that Dr. Lim should have reprimanded him. But Dr. Andrews was right at every turn. Shaun was not ready and Dr. Lim should not have given him Park’s surgery in the first place. When Shaun had to give the patient the bad news about the feeding tube, Shaun didn’t want to because then he would have lost the surgery. So Dr. LIm coddled him and ordered Park to do it. When the patient wanted another surgeon, Dr. Lim got him back in the patient’s good graces. When Shaun discovered the good news during surgery, he then had that meltdown because the good news meant he couldn’t do the surgery. so Dr. Lim coddled Shaun by letting him back into the OR and telling him he would be lead surgeon soon afterwards. So even though Dr. Andrews should not have done what he did, I think he was right about Dr. Lim coddling Shaun and Dr. Lim was letting Shaun get away with so much that he should not have gotten away with.

    And Claire – What a story line she has now! I completely agree with you that I hope it doesn’t end up like the Dr. Coyle story line and gets dropped suddenly or a patient comes along next week and immediately shows her the way back to happiness, rainbows, and puppies.

    We haven’t seen Shaun and Morgan together in a long time. I would enjoy that a lot!

    And did you notice how Park got his first lead surgery off camera and without a story line? It’s as if he has become like Claire was last season – a supporting character with no real story line of his own. Fine by me!

    1. This dislike for Dr. Park is strong I see. To be honest, a part of me wouldn’t me him getting cut but since they work in pairs, I know that isn’t going to happen.

      As for Shaun? I have to admit, sometimes I feel unsure when I am going to easy or hard on him. Yet, I think alongside Carly, Dr. Lim may also be trying to figure out Shaun in terms of what can and can’t be done, alongside what he can be pushed to do. Which does make it seem she’ll fall into the same issue Dr. Glassman and Dr. Andrews had in both over and underestimating Shaun at inopportune times.

      1. In regards to Shaun and whether to go easy or hard on him, I’ve drawn the line on whether it’s social or medical. If it’s social (Carly), I say go easy on him because overall it doesn’t matter if he holds hands or not or touches one body part at a time or not. But if it’s medical and someone’s life is on the line and Shaun could walk out on a surgery or Shaun could have a meltdown and collapse on the floor, then I think Dr. Andrews is right. Until Shaun learns coping mechanisms, he’s not ready to be the lead surgeon. He needs to learn to “blow out the candles” before the meltdown, not after he walks out on the patient and Dr. Park has told him to breathe.

          1. I was so focused on Shaun getting coddled by Dr. Lim that I forgot to comment on Steve. When he appeared, I was so happy so see him!! He gives such an interesting insight into Shaun when Shaun was younger, including in this episode. It’s such a shame that Steve died so young because then we can’t have Steve up through high school and beyond. I know you mentioned Steve’s teen years, but how old was Steve when he died? How many teen years did he actually live? I’m not sure, and I always guessed it was when he was 13 or 14. Anyway, Steve is a character I’d love to see more of!!

            1. It would depend if Shaun is the older or younger brother. Going by my notes for episode 1, of season 1, Dr. Glassman met Shaun when he was 14. So, if I recall right, Steve was the younger brother who was like an older brother so he’d have to be 13?

              Though, they could have used Evan, who we saw in S1E5 as a workaround. It was Dylan Kingwell as him and Shaun could have been weird about it and stayed in touch. Maybe cyber stalked the kid.

              But, in a way, it is cool for Shaun to imagine Steve for it connects him in another way to Dr. Glassman. At least in terms of, when highly stressed, they see the biggest love of their life and they guide them.

              1. I think you’re right that Steve died when he was 13, especially since Shaun seemed about 14 when he stopped living in a bus with Steve and went into that foster home with the woman who kept saying “Tough titmouse”.

                And more Steve would be great! Or, like you wrote in your recap, an appearance from Shaun and Steve’s mother.

Questions, Comments or Difference of Opinion?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button