Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 12 “Here” – Recap, Review (with Spoilers)

Keke and Micah nuzzling.
64.22% (1)

Just a Nova seems to be recovering her place in the family, Charley might be ready to cut her and the rest all off.


Network
OWN
Director(s) Pratibha Parmar
Writer(s) Anthony Sparks, Alison McKenzie
Air Date 9/4/2019
Introduced This Episode
Layla Kei’Undrea Turner

Images and text in this post may contain affiliate links which, if a purchase is made, we’ll earn money or products from the company. Affiliate links and external links have an upward facing, superscript, arrow.

Let’s Not Repeat The Mistakes Of The Past: Darla, Nova, Aunt Vi, Blue, Ralph Angel

With Nova winning over Charley, the next easiest person to go after would seemingly be Ralph Angel. After all, he forgave Darla after the paternity thing and, since Ralph Angel didn’t meet Martha, Nova is all that is left of their mother right now. Thing is, between Blue being put in therapy to deal with what Nova revealed and Darla’s relapse being blamed on Nova, he’s ready to ice her out.

The problem with doing that, however, is Blue is questioning why and after Aunt Vi and Nova reconnect, even she isn’t for that nonsense. But the big blow might come from Darla. Someone who, if you recall, after the paternity situation, wasn’t allowed to enter the house for a charger. Also, like Aunt Vi, Nova hasn’t really apologized, truly, for all that happened and tried to atone. Which, in her own way, Aunt Vi has, but Nova has yet to take responsibility for her actions.

Yet, that’s Blue’s aunt, she wants her son’s life filled with love, not hate, indifference, or snide comments. So she pushes Ralph Angel, if just for Blue’s sake, to let it go. Which, after talking to Blue, who notes a situation he had with a friend named Marcus, Ralph Angel lets it go. At least in terms of letting Blue interact with Nova. He isn’t at the point yet of embracing her, like everyone else.

Destroying The Path I Laid Down: Aunt Vi, Jimmy Dale, Nova, Layla

Layla (KeiUndrea Turner) in front of Aunt Vi, clearly after being beaten within the last few days.

Jimmy Dale (Whose name I keep getting mixed up with Jimmy Dean), returns. However, not in the form of him coming to Aunt Vi but Aunt Vi to him. Why? Well, there is this box, filled with mementos from her past, which has been like a boulder and chain. One which makes it so, even with all the riches Vi has, she feels that tug. One that Nova yanks and made Aunt Vi fall to her face. Which is an issue.

You see, Vi may have never put her entire story out there, but she gave the Cliff Notes version. She pushed her triumph, and yet Nova pushed her trials. In fact, Nova put more effort into detailing the trials, seemingly because that was what she needed. Nova didn’t need the grandeur triumph but to fully understand the struggle. One which Vi hasn’t fully moved past.

But that changes this episode. She hands Jimmy Dale her pain, and like the bastard he is there is no acceptance of his part. Insults are still flung, and juvenile behavior we rarely even see from Blue is exhibited. However, bad turns worse as we are introduced to Layla. She is someone either dating Jimmy Dale, maybe married to him, and clearly is being abused. So, rather than just rejoice in how better her life is, while looking at Jimmy Dale’s decrepit house and life, she eradicates her path. Making it so Layla not only can have freedom but forge her own way. One beside Aunt Vi at Vi’s Pie’s, if she decides to take the job – once she handles her business at a woman’s shelter.

If It Isn’t One Thing, It’s Another: Charley, Micah, Keke, Aunt Vi, Nova, Prosper, Frances

Everyone’s favorite cousin, Cousin Frances, shows up and she is just steaming about this reveal of a negro being in her family tree. Dare I say, she had to go see a dentist just to whiten her teeth to feel better. But, considering cops are now suspecting Charley’s brother or son of arson, it seems her showing up to the campaign HQ was just a prelude of things to come.

Which, by the way, includes voter suppression in the form of local farmers being taken off the books and moving polling stations nearly 10 miles away. This, as you can imagine, is a lot for Charley to deal with, on top of the book exposure, reconciling with Nova, and breaking up with her boyfriend. However, Prosper has been through this so he is already working with the community to overcome this obstacle as Charley gets with her lawyers over the purge of the rolls.

But, you know when it comes to Charley, when it rains it pours. First by Nova revealing Charley is facing something bigger than Frances, but a shell company who seemingly eats up small towns regularly. Then, there is Micah. Someone who decides to break out of Charley’s dream for him and not go to Harvard. An idea many in the family support,  Keke included, making it so Charley feels unsupported, singled out, perhaps conspired against, and thus she has to leave the room.

Charley astonished that Micah isn't going to Harvard.

Maybe this may lead to her seeking out Darla and reconnecting with the only friend we’ve seen her with that wasn’t family, a business partner, or a potential love interest.

Question(s) Left Unanswered

  1. Did Davis really put any money towards that Rolex or did Charley just write that on there?
  2. What is in the box Ernest left for Blue and considering all that has happened, why is it just now being found?

Highlights

Darla Being The Bigger Person

When it comes to Ralph Angel’s family, nearly everyone in it has done Darla wrong. Hollywood told her to keep her distance, Aunt Vi gives her nasty looks, Nova was a mini-Aunt Vi and used her story to sell books, Ralph Angel blew up her life and didn’t keep the paternity situation quiet, and then there is Charley. Lest we forget, Charley fired Darla, despite being a perfect right-hand woman, just to show her loyalty to Ralph Angel. She spites her business, and what was a growing friendship, just because Blue wasn’t blood.

Yet, look at Darla. This hateful ass family, who would cut someone off or down in a hot minute, she still can see the love in. She can twist how each one are hollering dogs who can’t take someone returning their venom, and see it as them being passionate and loving. Heck, going off of how Blue acts, we can see how he more so is a product of her than any time spent with Aunt Vi as his guardian or under Ralph Angel. So here is hoping this olive branch, which Aunt Vi has taken, is honored not just by her but the others as well.

Darla smiling towards Ralph Angel.

Aunt Vi Set Free

While loving to her family, and community, we’ve seen the dark side of Vi many times. Not just with Darla, but Nova, Ralph Angel, maybe even Charley – though it has been a while. However, something seems different. With Jimmy Dale destroying that box, it is like whatever bits and pieces were locked up in there, scared to even come out if Vi opened the box, were freed. Whatever was trapped in there, haunting Vi, is gone. Now, she can seemingly, fully, serve her purpose in the world.

Be it helping girls like Layla get jobs and secure independence, after being abused, showing how she set the way for Ralph Angel’s program, or just living her truth. For, in my mind, and as noted above, while Aunt Vi noted her trials, she put so much effort into her triumphs that I don’t think Nova and the rest got the full story. And with Nova looking to Aunt Vi as a maternal figure, lacking the entire story is damaging.

Heck, look no further than the Lorna situation. Aunt Vi told a half-truth there and look at how that affected Nova’s relationship with Charley. Never mind her perception of Charley’s mother – who really should be popping back around sooner or later.

Aunt Vi noting there will be no more secrets.

Give Prosper His Flowers

Just like Aunt Vi stepped up when Ralph Angel and Nova’s mom died, Prosper did when Ernest died. Yet, I honestly can’t say he gets enough credit for what he does. Be it getting the farm running, convincing farmers to work with Charley, an outsider, and bringing them to the table over and over, then helping her campaign? Let’s not forget this man is older than Vi and yet still hustling about for people who aren’t even his kin, never mind kids. All with the intention of doing right by them and without a single sign he was doing this to impress Vi.

That to me is a real man and a true friend right there. Even after death, Prosper is treating Ernest’s kids like his own. It’s beautiful enough to make you cry.

Micah Forging His Own Path & Charley’s Reaction

Like some of you, I have a fascination with Black rich kids. The Smith children specifically, for they have a certain level of freedom we don’t often, publicly, see. Like EJ Johnson, they have this freedom to explore, make mistakes, get messy (Magic School Bus Reference), that isn’t available to most Black kids. Which is why I take such great note of Micah’s journey since he may not be fluid in sexuality or gender expression, but how he has used his privilege has always been curious.

Think about it, his father is a rich basketball player and mother a self-made multi-millionaire. Not to downplay Lorna’s role in that, but Charley busted her ass to make Davis who he is. Which perhaps explains why she is so upset. Throughout the last few seasons, Micah has increasingly rejected Charley, what she represents, and her path. He never stopped loving her, but he has made clear he doesn’t necessarily like her decisions.

Making it so, him wanting to get into photography, drop Harvard, and do community work by not pursuing a way to create jobs, but document what is happening, it is the ultimate slap in the face. For, think about it, being a disenfranchised person makes it so giving your children access to do better is one of your top priorities. You sacrifice time, dignity, money, and maybe even love so they can have more, do more, and live a life you paved them to have. So for them to not reject all of that? What does it mean for all those years you spent bending over backwards? For Charley, what was the purpose of letting him go to public school and the leniency you gave? All just so it can bite you on the ass and be in a room of people who care more about this kid and his short-sighted decision than you?

Which isn’t to imply I don’t understand, or disagree, with Micah’s decision. College is a necessary evil and once you go on a path, settle into an industry, and have experience just in that, changing your path is hard. But, also there is this need to recognize that this is partly Charley’s own doing. She has been pro-community for a long time, wanted Micah to know his history and people, and he did. It’s just, he decided rather than become someone over his people, he’d be one of the people. Showing, in many ways, Charley’s dreams for Micah didn’t really include Micah all that much. Hence the constant push back and this lack of understanding between the two.

Leading to another good reason for Nova’s book, so that even if Charley didn’t know her son well, at least her son got some sense of his mom and a reason to ask questions.

On The Fence

There Is Always Something New When It Comes To Charley vs. The Landry Family

I’m just tired. Between Tales From The Crypt Sam Landry, the dog who humps your leg in Jacob, and Hitler’s mistress Frances, they’ve been awhile too long, and the escalation isn’t helping. This story, this long war, it needs to be done. The anger has reached its point long ago when we learned the Landry family-owned Charley’s. This burning of the mill seemed like a way to release Charley from being trapped in St. Jo, so let her win this election and head on a path to DC. Her son is grown, likely going to be cut off, if Charley has anything to do with it, so let her focus on her, her role in the community, and be done with this Landry family drama.

Follow Wherever I Look on Twitter, Like us on Facebook, Sign Up For Our Mailing List and Subscribe to the YouTube Channel.

Queen Sugar - Episode List

Season/ EpisodeSynopsisEpisode InformationTopics & Focused Characters
Season 4, Episode 13 “I Am” [Season Finale]In the season finale for Queen Sugar, while many find peace, unfortunately for Charley, it seems she just keeps swapping who she is at war with.
Director(s) Ayoka Chenzira
Writer(s) Anthony Sparks
Air Date 9/11/2019
Introduced This Episode
Parker Amirah Vann
  • Something From Our Past | Nova, Ralph Angel
  • A Love Renewed | Ralph Angel, Nova, Darla, Calvin
  • I Am My Father’s Daughter | Aunt Vi, Frances, Parker, Charley, Sam
Season 4, Episode 12 “Here”

Just a Nova seems to be recovering her place in the family, Charley might be ready to cut them all off.

Director(s)

Pratibha Parmar

Writer(s)

Anthony Sparks, Alison McKenzie

Air Date

9/4/2019

Introduced This Episode

Layla

Kei'Undrea Turner

  • Let’s Not Repeat The Mistakes Of The Past: Darla, Nova, Aunt Vi, Blue, Ralph Angel
  • Destroying The Path I Laid Down: Aunt Vi, Jimmy Dale, Nova, Layla
  • If It Isn’t One Thing, It’s Another: Charley, Micah, Keke, Aunt Vi, Nova, Prosper, Frances
Season 4, Episode 11 “I’m Sorry”As a rainstorm sweeps through St. Jo, many find themselves with someone who forces them to slow down and think about their future.
Director(s) Stacey Muhammad
Writer(s) Valerie C. Woods, Mike Flynn
Air Date 8/28/2019
  • A Prom Night To Remember: Micah, Keke, Asha
  • I Should Be With The One I Love: Deesha, Ralph Angel, Darla
  • A Change Gon’ Come: Nova, Calvin, Hollywood, Aunt Vi, Charley, Jacob
Season 4, Episode 10 “Oh Mamere”The night Blue was conceived is talked about, as well as many past trauma that still shakes characters to the core.
Director(s) Cheryl Dunye
Writer(s) Chloé Hung, Felicia Pride
Air Date 8/21/2019
Introduced This Episode
Jordan Amanda Tavarez
  • Charley, Nova, Aunt Vi | Hurt People Hurt People
  • Micah, Blue, Prosper, Ralph Angel, Hollywood | Boys & Men
  • Jordan, Darla, Aunt Vi, Ralph Angel | Darla Talks About The Night She Conceived Blue
Season 4, Episode 9 “Stare At The Same Fires”As Nova comes to terms with what she did, and tries to atone, Darla struggles in isolation. Also, the men challenge themselves to open up to one another.
Director(s) C. Fitz
Writer(s) Lisa Morales
Air Date 8/14/2019
Introduced This Episode
Miss Martha Carol Sutton
  • Oh Mother, Mother Of Mine: Miss Martha, Nova, Darla, Ralph Angel, Blue, Leo
  • Not All Boys Become Men: Micah, Keke, Ralph Angel, Hollywood, Aunt Vi
  • Gather Together & Share The Burden Evenly: Prosper, Charley, Nova, Micah
Season 4, Episode 8 “All The Borders”When it rains, it pours, and while it seems some may have learned to swim, others may pass out from the struggle and drown.
Director(s) Deborah Kampmeier
Writer(s) Valerie C. Woods, Chloé Hung
Air Date 8/7/2019
  • Deesha, Darla, and The Review Board: Ralph Angel, Deesha, Darla
  • The Demon Formerly Known As Frances And Calling In Old Favors: Frances, Charley, Sam, Aunt Vi, Hollywood, Nova, Ralph Angel
  • The Past Is A Struggle With or Without You: Darla, Deesha, Ralph Angel, Romero, Charley, Micah, Keke, Calvin, Nova, Aunt Vi
Season 4, Episode 7 “Of Several Centuries”As the dust begins to settle from Nova’s book, the Landry and Bourdeux family decide to hurt destroy what the Bordelon family has built. Either physically or its bonds.
Director(s) Tchaiko Omawale
Writer(s) Anthony Sparks
Air Date 7/31/2019
  • The Ghost Of My Past Continues To Haunt Me:Leo, Darla, Nova, Calvin
  • Learning To Be Strong On My Own: Aunt Vi
  • And It All Falls Down: Ralph Angel, Charley, Deesha, Jacob
Season 4, Episode 6 "By The Spit"While some are making strides recovering from Nova’s book, Aunt Vi begins to really feel the effects and Nova, herself, is dealing with the dark side of her new success.
Director(s) Bola Ogun
Writer(s) Felicia Pride
Air Date 7/24/2019
Introduced This Episode
Pastor Angel Martinez Armando Leduc
Lady Genevieve Ginnie Randall
  • Recovery Is A Slow Process: Aunt Vi, Ralph Angel, Blue, Darla, Hollywood
  • What Fed You Once Can Bite You Later: Nova, Octavia
  • Your Focus Can’t Only Be On The Opposition, But Those You Have To Win Over: Romero, Pastor Martinez, Charley
Season 4, Episode 5 “Face Speckled”Nova’s book continues to devastate her family and extended family. But, we also learn of someone who was omitted who takes offense to the book.
Season 4, Episode 4 “Skin Transparent”On the eve of Nova’s book release, another secret comes out, and Darla confronts Nova about bringing her narrative to her story.
Season 4, Episode 1 “Pleasure Is Black” [Season Premiere]Despite being warned, Nova went full steam ahead with her book, and we only get a taste of the fallout this episode.
Season 4, Episode 2 “I No Longer Imagine”As more people read Nova’s book, we learn it comes just on the cusp of the storm ending for some and one colossal storm on its way.
Season 4, Episode 3 “Where My Body Stops Or Begins”As the drama Nova brought to everyone’s life continues to ramp up, Charley is faced with issues with the Landry family and Micah.

Season 1/ Episode 4 "The Darker Sooner"

Ralph Angel takes a back seat as the focus is on Charley’s business acumen and Nova’s journalism.

Season 1/ Episode 5 "By Any Means"

So it seems, the past familiarity of storylines was just to draw you in, get you comfortable and settled, and while there isn’t some huge surprise or shock in “By Any Chance”, there are veers to paths perhaps not surely expected.

Season 1/ Episode 6 "As Promised"

Perception is everything. It is what allows a person to trust another and it determines how we are going to handle another person. Especially when it comes to our secrets, as well as our time. Yet looks can be deceiving so even at our best mistakes can be made. As seen in this episode.

Season 1/ Episode 3 "Thy Will Be Done"

Everyone grieves differently and the pain isn’t consistent. There are good days and bad days, but it is the things left behind which matter most. So when those things are being ravaged through or taken from you, naturally it can lead to you being left a bit messed up. Which with what everyone is grieving, be it Ernest or their marriage, it seems there is always but one straw before the camel’s back ends up broke.

Season 1/ Episode 2 “Evergreen”

Family. Be it by bonds created by blood or choices we made, it gets complicated. But no matter the bond it always takes two or more to maintain that connection and keep it beneficial. Which can be hard when ego, our own inability to communicate, and distrust gets in the way.

Season 1/ Episode 1 “First Things First”

OWN is a slept on channel. Granted, starting things off with a slew of Tyler Perry productions didn’t begin its scripted foray with the best reputation. However, since branching out to different visionaries OWN arguably has gained the type of programming you’d have expected the decades old BET to have had years ago. So with their newest addition, Queen Sugar, arguably Oprah Winfrey and her team have created a solid launch pad for new talent, seasoned talent who deserve steady work, and those in between who may be familiar faces but never got the roles they deserved.

Season 1/ Episode 7 "In No Uncertain Terms"

Freedom lies across the field of the difficult conversation. And the more difficult the conversation, the greater the freedom.
—  “Chapter 11: Yes to No, Yes to Difficult Conversations.” Year of Yes

Season 1/ Episode 8 "Where With All"

A storm comes to the area and forces everyone to Aunt Vi’s house, included some people Aunt Vi would never willingly invite in. No matter how strong the storm is.

Season 1/ Episode 9 "Next to Nothing"

The storm has passed and with that comes a calm. Not a calm before the storm because this show isn’t about such things. It’s the type of calm which is healing. For while there are uprooted trees and fallen branches, yeah there maybe some tears. But in rebuilding, you are reminded of who is there for you through thick and thin, and not just family either.

Season 1/ Episode 10 "So Far"

There are quite a few setbacks, for everyone, in this episode, but there is always one person who creates some sort of silver lining. In that person, there is hope.

Season 1/ Episode 11 "All Good"

The importance of a connection with another human being, especially one which is dependable and trying to do right by you, is such a beautiful and strengthening thing. Though it isn’t always stable and with that comes fear.

Season 1/ Episode 12 "Far Too Long"

Almost everyone is trying to prove something to themselves or others. Either proving they can move on, triumph over adversity, or that they deserve to be loved.

Season 1/ Episode 13 "Give Us This Day"

Charley’s various manipulations are tested, as Nova learns of the complications which will come dating Calvin again and Ralph Angel looks for some respect from Charley.

Season 2/ Episode 1 “After The Winter”

One of the hardly arguable highlights of Black media returns. And, as always, you find yourself smiling because of the family dynamics, crying tears over certain struggles they have, and end up triggered as well. To say the least, Queen Sugar remains an emotional roller coaster ride that as soon as it is over, you want to get right back on.

Season 2/ Episode 2 “To Usward”

Grieving isn’t something just for the dead. A loss of innocence, relationships, these are worth mourning over. But from the dead, the richness of once was life, blooms something new. Something we see quite a bit of in “To Usward.”

Season 2/ Episode 3 “What Do I Care For Morning”

“What Do I Care For Morning” is an episode of growth and recognizing the needs of another person. Be it Charley recognizing the needs of Davis or Ralph Angel to be a role model in their son’s lives. Perhaps recognizing the greatness and intellect in another person as Nova does. If not something as simple as Hollywood recognizing the type of woman he has in Aunt Vi and that he needs more of the loving she gives.

Season 2/ Episode 4 “My Soul’s High Song”

What is the dream? Who or what inspired it? How can you obtain it? In “My Soul’s High Song” the focus is on what makes a person feel happy or whole. Especially in times when you aren’t necessarily thriving but surviving. Sometimes due to compromise.

Season 2/ Episode 5 “Caroling Dusk”

Investing in something bigger than yourself is the main focus in episode 5 “Caroling Dusk.” Be it investing in your kids and making sure they know you, know that you will consistently be there, or investing in someone else. Trying to make it so, in the long run, you can say you did more than became a success and can show it through property or a bank account. For the true success is perhaps the people you lifted up as you were climbing to the top and reached it.

Season 2/ Episode 6 “Line of our Elders”

If I may sort of rant, I really don’t understand how and why this show doesn’t get major accolade notoriety. For while, I get, as a Black person, we should uphold the NAACP awards, maybe BET awards, and all that, it isn’t like all of your peers recognizing you, you know? Plus, with this argument amongst entertainers, and something I bring up in reviews at times, where they don’t want to be pigeonholed because of their race/culture, it makes our award shows nice but still limited.

But, in the long run, all that truly matters is that whenever this show wraps for a season, or as a series, everyone doesn’t have a gap in employment. For that is truly what matters in the long run.

So, with that said, let’s talk about Episode 6 “Line of our Elders” and how this show consistently makes you cry.

Season 2/ Episode 7 “I Know My Soul”

With the rich characters we have been given on Queen Sugar, naturally, there is this desire to know of their past. To maybe get an episode featuring them as kids, teens, young adults. Get to see their interactions with their parents at those ages, and perhaps even Aunt Vi. However, that may not be as necessary as it once was. For in “I Know My Soul,” the complicated relationship both Nova and Charley have with Ernest and Ra is dug into, alongside how Aunt Vi has played, at least for Charley, a role in it. Thus helping us understand the complexities of this family.

Season 2/ Episode 8 “Freedom’s Plow”

The midseason finale deals with all the fallout for what has happened since the season began. Be it where Remy and Charley stand, with what happened to Micah, alongside Ralph Angel’s big reveal and how he handled it.

Season 2/ Episode 9 “Yet Do I Marvel”

Based off what was seen, and the little synopsis on Wikipedia, it seems the focus for 2B is going to primarily be family. For this episode, it is Charley’s mother Lorna joining the series and us being prepped for Darla’s parents.

Season 2/ Episode 10 “Drums at Dusk”

Love is in the air for Nova and Micah but sadly, as sweet as things are going for them, the opposite is true for Ralph Angel and Darla.

Season 2/ Episode 11 “Fruit of the Flower”

Everything you knew about Lorna and Ernest’s relationship seemingly is completely wrong and that seems to change everything for Nova. Alongside that, Remy playing a paternal figure changes things for Ralph Angel and Darla.

Season 2/ Episode 12 “Live in the All Along”

As one door closes, and another gets locked, it makes the few happy relationships that remain a welcome focus.

Season 2/ Episode 13 “Heritage”

Darla’s parents come about and like when Lorna came to Louisiana, we are led to believe everything we were told is not true.

Director(s) Liesl Tommy
Writer(s) Monica Macer & Davita Scarlett
Notable Guest Stars
Darlene Michael Michele
Quincy Roger Guenveur Smith

Season 2/ Episode 14 “On These I Stand”

As Darla and Aunt Vi deal with the revealing of their secrets, Nova and Charley find themselves having to really think about the next step of their careers.

Director(s) Christina Voros
Writer(s) Jason Wilborn & Anthony Sparks
Characters Introduced
Mother Brown Beverly Todd
Mia Naomi Mack
Rid Dominic “Tax” Alexander
Martin Shawn Parsons

Season 2/ Episode 15 “Copper Sun”

Nearly everything goes to hell. The Mill is in trouble, due to slander, the Blue paternity situation rocks everyone and, even Micah is in trouble.

Director(s) DeMane Davis
Writer(s) Monica Macer & Dana Greenblatt
Characters Introduced
Lizy Danielle Lyn

Season 2/ Episode 16 “Dream Variations”

Do not expect resolutions to any of your pressing questions in the season 2 finale of Queen Sugar. Hold onto them until season 3, unfortunately.

Director(s) Kat Candler
Writer(s) Ava Duverney

Season 3/ Episode 1 “A Rock, A River, A Tree”

Queen Sugar returns with Charley laying out her plan, Blue’s paternity results in, Nova making major moves, and Blue starting to act up a little bit.

Season 3/ Episode 2 “Of Their Sojourn Here”

Nova and Aunt Vi find strength and inspiration through each other as Charley takes note of Micah’s personal needs than she wants for him.

Season 3/ Episode 3 “Your Distant Destiny”

As Nova reminds us how tactless she can sometimes be, Ralph Angel decides to put his son before tryst and Micah adjusts to the changes in his life.

Season 3/ Episode 4 “No Haven in My Shadow”

As we come up on a year since we joined the story of the Bordelon family, as much as there is growth there remains secrets to reveal.

Season 3/ Episode 5 “A Little Lower Than Angels”

The writers of Queen Sugar have seemingly decided to provide many gifts with a few poisoned apples in a slightly polarizing episode.

Season 3/ Episode 6 “Delicate and Strangely Made”

Giving yourself permission to be happy is the first step and then asking, or taking it the second, as seen in this episode.

Season 3/ Episode 7 “Study War No More”

The focus of the episode is figuring out what you want and what compromises you may have to make to get it. If not tough conversation so people understand why you want something.

Season 3/ Episode 8 “Come, Clad in Peace”

After long struggling on their own, many begin accepting and asking for help. Thus showing how far some characters have come.

Season 3/ Episode 9 “The Tree and the Stone Were One”

Trust is a major focus as many become shocked by what is asked of them, whether understandable or just a Grade-A insult.

Season 3/ Episode 10 “Here Beside the River”

The nuclear button gets tapped a few times and while it’s mostly by Vi, it isn’t like she wasn’t provoked.

Season 3/ Episode 11 “Your Passages Have Been Paid”

As Micah’s decision makes the pending jail vote all the much more pertinent, Darla and Nova are forced to also be accountable for their actions.

Season 3/ Episode 12 “The Horizon Leans Forward”

While we get some semblance of a silver lining, Queen Sugar remains unrelenting. No matter how hopeful each episode’s title is. 

Season 3/ Episode 13 “From On The Pulse Of Morning”

The season finale of Queen Sugar gives you all you could want and more, making it seem like the clouds are gone and the storm might be over – for now.

How Would You Rate This?

Negative Mixed Positive

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter

* indicates required
Email Format

Questions, Comments, or Opposing Opinion?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.