Wherever I Look
Recaps, Reviews, and So Much More
Home TV Series Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 10 “And You Would Be One Of Them” [Season Finale] – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)

Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 10 “And You Would Be One Of Them” [Season Finale] – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)

by Amari

With the announcement that its next season would be its last, the season 6 finale sets up the end of the war that has plagued the farms of St. Jo for generations.


Community Rating: 76.11% (1)


 


Aired11/16/2021
NetworkOWN
Directed ByShaz Bennett
Written ByAnthony Sparks
Introduced This Episode
CardaleTroy Anthony Hogan

Recap

While Soldiers Get Weary, They Don’t Lose Hope – Davis, Charley, Dominic, Nova, Micah, Isiah

Charley noting she is tired

Charley is tired. For years she has worked to better everyone else’s life while putting her own on the backburner. But now, she desires a change. She wants to move herself up on the priority list, and it seems she’ll do so by marrying and living with Davis in California. This means, when it comes to her running for congress, it won’t be for the state of Louisiana.

But, before she goes, Nova, or rather Dominic, delivers an excellent going away gift in the form of the Bordelon farm being recognized as a historical site, due to the graves across the family’s land. With Dominic delivering this, it is one less thing for Charley to worry about and Nova too. Which leads to those two being willing to move forward towards a possible relationship.

Speaking of relationships, Micah comes to terms that he doesn’t want a romantic one with Isiah. Simply put, he just loves Isiah more than he has loved any man, but it’s purely in an emotional and perhaps mental way. There isn’t a physical attraction, and Isiah is cool with that. After all, he believes men should be able to love and share intimacy the same way women do without expecting a romantic relationship.

Then Came The Reinforcements – Ralph Angel, Cardale, Darla, Prosper, Billie

With the Bordelon family’s land being preserved by the state, the family needs to go from being defensive to attacking. In order to do that, they need to secure the co-op, and while Prosper champions it and Billie finds a firm to represent the farmers, Cardale is being a holdout.

Why? Because it’s a risk, and with money in hand, he isn’t thinking long term. However, once again, Darla proves she is more than just Ralph Angel’s little wife and gives an impassioned statement that would push you to think she could run for Charley’s seat on the council. Add in Ralph Angel co-signing, and Cardale joins the co-op and gives the Bordelon’s some big-time purchasing power.

Darla convincing the hold out to join the co-op

Oh, and Darla’s water breaks later on, so it becomes quite a big day for her and Ralph Angel in multiple ways.

Check, Not Checkmate – Theo, Hollywood, Aunt Vi, Parker, Charley

At this point, Parker, who steps in rather than her father, thinks the two sides have come to a draw. Yes, the Bordelons have defended their land and will be meddlesome with the outlet mall deal, but the war is not over. That is until Hollywood comes out with Theo, who looks like he got roughed up a bit, and Theo makes it seem he is not just ready to snitch on what happened with Ralph Angel, but perhaps a whole lot more that he knows about.

This puts Parker on edge, and while she doesn’t want to give up the outlet mall, she is willing to let the Bordelons keep their land if Theo keeps his mouth shut. This would mean the co-op would have to direct their money elsewhere, and the Bordelons technically have a liability through Parker knowing they used the farmers for their own selfish needs.

But all of that is down the road. Right now, the family is celebrating a hard-fought victory.

Things To Note | Question(s) Left Unanswered

Question(s) Left Unanswered

  1. So does Davis spend time with his other child, at all?
  2. Why did the police just suddenly stop coming after Nova?
  3. All things considered, why hasn’t the Landry family made more problems for Charley in politics?
  4. What did Hollywood specifically say and do to get Theo to act right?
  5. Considering the co-op has money, has anyone thought about rebuilding the Queen Sugar plant so that they can harvest their own cane again? That whole project seemed to have been abandoned.

What Could Happen Next

  1. The Landry family throw all they got as the war comes to an end.

Review

Highlights

Micah’s Conversation With Isiah

As Isiah has said before, in other cultures, other countries, even ones Americans would find conservative, there is more openness between men when it comes to affection. So you have to enjoy the writers wanting to use Micah to show the capabilities of loving another man without it being sexual. Then, to add a layer to it, Isiah is gay.

To me, as much as it may seem Hollywood would be the center of men fostering relationships with one another, through his business, I think Micah accomplished what Hollywood might not be able to do in St. Jo. He found love, compassion, intimacy, and a sense of safety in his fellow man and learned how to have the kind of freedom most guys in America probably won’t have. At least, as long as an aversion to men being too close persists in American society.

The End Of The War

Parker when she realized Charley has the upper hand

I doubt Parker, Sam, and the rest of the Landry family are going to be put in jail or out of business in the 7th and final season. However, it appears now they can’t bully the farmers and have a formidable opponent. The kind which will create either a cold war or the type of understanding where, while the Landry family will remain focused on developing properties and acquiring land, they’ll leave the farmers alone.

Either way, watching Parker realize the Bordelons have learned the ways of the Landry family and have changed who has the upper hand was a sight to see and will definitely be part of the highlight reel OWN will likely produce.

On The Fence

A Rather Quick Save

While we are glad it happened, we can’t quickly and easily ignore how quickly it did. The save of the Bordelon farm by the State of Louisiana defied government bureaucracy. It’s almost as unbelievable as how easily Hollywood found Theo and got him to be on his family’s side.  But, this isn’t us complaining about the long-term implications, just that it all happening at the ninth hour is way too convenient.

Queen Sugar Directory

Character Guide

Not Created

Collected Quotes

Created

Season Reviews

Season 2 | Season 3

Affiliate Links (If A Purchase Is Made, The Vendor Will Provide Us A Commission)

Check Out Series Available For Purchase or With Prime On Amazon

Check Out More Shows Covered on Wherever I Look
TitleExcerpt
Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 10 “And You Would Be One Of Them” [Season Finale] – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)With the announcement that its next season would be its last, the season 6 finale sets up the end of the war that has plagued the farms of St. Jo for generations.
Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 9 “Tossing In The Meadows” – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)As the family prepares for the birth of its newest member, a recent discovery may provide hope for saving the farm.
Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 8 “All Those Brothers And Sisters” – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)As Ralph Angel reels from potentially losing the farm, and Nova from her trauma, Charley is offered a new opportunity and Micah finds himself in an uncomfortable situation.
Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 7 “They Would Bloom And Welcome You” – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)As Ralph Angel faces the music, regarding his decision, Charley makes a decision regarding running for congress as she learns not only what happened with RA but Nova as well.
Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 6 "Or Maybe Just Stay There" – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)As Nova pays the price for her activism, Vi does for both her kindness and ignorance. Also, Charley tries to enjoy the peace before potentially walking into a storm.
Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 5 “Moving So Easily Through That Common Depth” – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)As an investigation begins into the remains found on the farm, there is hope for a win as it is dearly needed in the Bordelon family.
Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 4 “To A Different Day” – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)As Nova's actions continue to complicate the lives of her family, many attempt to find the silver lining in their dark cloud.
Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 3 “You Would Come Back Different” – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)As Ralph Angel introduces one of his old friends, Darla continues to foreshadow something bad happening. The only question is what will happen and to who?
Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 2 “And Dream With Them Deeply” – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)Alongside Prosper's daughter coming to St. Jo, we meet who Aunt Vi has been keeping a secret, learn the gender of Ralph Angel and Darla's baby, and more.
Queen Sugar: Season 6/ Episode 1 “If You Could Enter Their Dreaming” [Premiere] – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)While season 5 toned down the drama and allowed enough peace for the Bordelon family to move forward, season 6 sweeps in and brings the ails season 5 avoided.
Queen Sugar: Season 5 – Review/ Summary (with Spoilers)Season 5 of Queen Sugar, despite addressing the COVID-19 pandemic and 2020's Black Lives Matter movement, is a reprieve from what the show has perennially given viewers.
Queen Sugar: Season 5/ Episode 10 – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)In the season 5 finale, we're reminded that, despite Queen Sugar often feeling about struggle, those fights are for the joy everyone knows they deserve.
Queen Sugar: Season 5/ Episode 9 – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)Multiple bombshells are dropped as Ralph Angel, and Darla make a decision with Blue, and Nova discovers something that could end her relationship with Calvin.
Queen Sugar: Season 5/ Episode 8 "June 3, 2020" – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)As Darlene's decision to get Blue accepted to a fancy school causes problems, Charley is dealing with COVID symptoms and Nova's possibility of marriage.
Queen Sugar: Season 5/ Episode 7 "June 1, 2020" – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)Someone in the Bordelon family may have COVID, another faces relationship troubles, and someone also faces off with a cop – making for a nail-biting episode.
Queen Sugar: Season 5/ Episode 6 "May 27, 2020" – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)As the murder of George Floyd happens and the summer of Black Lives Matter marches begin, everyone is taken to task what it means for them, their relationships, and their families.
Queen Sugar: Season 5/ Episode 5 "May 19, 2020" – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)It's the calm before the storm as Ralph Angel and Darla have a whirlwind wedding filled with love and joy.
Queen Sugar: Season 5/ Episode 4 "Early May 2020" – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)As Calvin's daughter comes to Nova's home to quarantine, and Hollywood struggles to see his mother, Micah and Charley clash, and Ralph Angel falls deeper in love with Darla.
Queen Sugar: Season 5/ Episode 3 "Late-April 2020" – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)As COVID-19 rages on, it begins to test members of the Bordelon family and their loved ones as financial issues, isolation, and more emerge.
Queen Sugar: Season 5/ Episode 2 "Mid-March 2020" – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)Just as Darla is reaching a new chapter, as is Hollywood, COVID-19 strikes, and the shutdowns begin.
Queen Sugar: Season 5/ Episode 1 "Late-February 2020" [Premiere] – Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)In Queen Sugar's return, as a councilmember, Charley is at war with the Beckington Group, who is hell-bent on changing St. Jo and bending things to their will.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 13 “I Am” [Season Finale] – Recap, Review (with Spoilers)In the season finale for Queen Sugar, while many find peace, unfortunately for Charley, it seems she just keeps swapping who she is at war with.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 12 "Here" - Recap, Review (with Spoilers)Just a Nova seems to be recovering her place in the family, Charley might be ready to cut them all off.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 11 "I'm Sorry" - Recap, Review (With Spoilers)As a rainstorm sweeps through St. Jo, many find themselves with someone who forces them to slow down and think about their future.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 10 "Oh Mamere" - Recap, Review (with Spoilers)The night Blue was conceived is talked about, as well as many past trauma that still shakes characters to the core.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 9 "Stare At The Same Fires" - Recap, Review (with Spoilers)As Nova comes to terms with what she did, and tries to atone, Darla struggles in isolation. Also, the men challenge themselves to open up to one another.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 8 "All The Borders" - Recap, Review (with Spoilers)When it rains, it pours, and while it seems some may have learned to swim, others may pass out from the struggle and drown.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 7 "Of Several Centuries" - Recap, Review (with Spoilers)As the dust begins to settle from Nova’s book, the Landry and Bourdeux family decide to hurt destroy what the Bordelon family has built. Either physically or its bonds.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 6 "By The Spit" - Recap, Review (with Spoilers)While some are making strides recovering from Nova’s book, Aunt Vi begins to really feel the effects and Nova, herself, is dealing with the dark side of her new success.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 5 "Face Speckled" - Recap, Review (with Spoilers)Nova’s book continues to devastate her family and extended family. But, we also learn of someone who was omitted who takes offense to the book.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 4 "Skin Transparent" - Recap, Review (with Spoilers)On the eve of Nova’s book release, another secret comes out, and Darla confronts Nova about bringing her narrative to her story.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 3 "Where My Body Stops Or Begins" - Recap, Review (with Spoilers)As the drama Nova brought to everyone’s life continues to ramp up, Charley is faced with issues with the Landry family and Micah.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 2 "I No Longer Imagine" - Recap, Review (with Spoilers)As more people read Nova’s book, we learn it comes just on the cusp of the storm ending for some and one colossal storm on its way.
Queen Sugar: Season 4, Episode 1 "Pleasure Is Black" [Season Premiere] - Recap, Review (with Spoilers)Despite being warned, Nova went full steam ahead with her book, and we only get a taste of the fallout this episode.
Queen Sugar: Season 3 - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 13 "From On The Pulse Of Morning" [Season Finale] - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 12 "The Horizon Leans Forward" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 11 "Your Passages Have Been Paid" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 10 "Here Beside the River" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 9 "The Tree and the Stone Were One" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 8 "Come, Clad in Peace" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 7 "Study War No More" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 6 "Delicate and Strangely Made" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 5 "A Little Lower Than Angels" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 4 "No Haven in My Shadow" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3, Episode 3 "Your Distant Destiny" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 2 "Of Their Sojourn Here" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 3/ Episode 1 "A Rock, A River, A Tree" [Season Premiere] - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2 - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 16 "Dream Variations" [Season Finale] - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 15 "Copper Sun" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 14 "On These I Stand" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 13 "Heritage" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 12 "Live in the All Along" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 11 "Fruit of the Flower" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 10 "Drums at Dusk" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 9 "Yet Do I Marvel" - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 8 "Freedom's Plow" [Mid-Season Finale] - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 7 "I Know My Soul" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 6 "Line of our Elders" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 5 "Caroling Dusk" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 4 "My Soul's High Song" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 3 "What Do I Care For Morning" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 2 "To Usward" - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 2/ Episode 1 "After The Winter" [Season Premiere] - Recap/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 13 "Give Us This Day" [Season Finale] - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 12 "Far Too Long" - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 11 "All Good" - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 10 "So Far" - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 9 "Next to Nothing" - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 8 "Where With All" - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 7 "In No Uncertain Terms" - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 1 “First Things First” [Series Premiere] – Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 2 “Evergreen” – Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 3 "Thy Will Be Done" - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 6 "As Promised" - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 5 "By Any Means" - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)
Queen Sugar: Season 1/ Episode 4 "The Darker Sooner" - Overview/ Review (with Spoilers)

What Would Your Rating Be?

Negative Mixed Positive

Negative  (0%) Mixed  (0%) Positive  (100%)

2 comments

Sarah November 23, 2021 - 11:32 AM

“Once again, Darla proves she is more than just Ralph Angel’s little wife and gives an impassioned statement that would push you to think she could run for Charley’s seat on the council.”

I love this little piece of writing that you wrote for our girl Darla. It is so beautiful to see Darla’s journey and how far she as come. She has the quiet strength to her but when she wants to be see and heard she 100% always makes herself known. These scene and Darla’s baby shower speech/monologue scene just ONCE AGAIN PROVES just how UNDERRATED our girl is. She is so good, and I loved watching Bianca bring Darla to life over these last 5 years but I am honestly happy that the show will end with season 7, more so just because I don’t think I can take too much of the somewhat sad storylines that the characters have to go through each season, but on a more selfish note I want/need for Bianca to be in more things, and now that she isn’t tide town to QS anymore maybe that can happen now.

Again, as we discussed before maybe our girl is okay with just being a supporting actress, and I know that Hollywood and script writers/movie makes aren’t dishing out the most original material/movies but I just need her to be in more things lol I know that I have been saying this since this show started, but I just believe in BL’s talent so much and I feel like the world needs to see her more. I know the pandemic has stopped a lot of things from getting made and people actively going to the theaters and all of that but come on Netflix/Hulu/HBO Max something/someone needs to get our girl booked with any of these streaming services cause our girl is the ONE.

Not to bring race into but we ALWAYS have a slew of somewhat mediocre white actress/actors who can’t act worth an inch of what BL can but they get the exposure and the opportunity. Darla is not just a pretty face, she has the TALENT. Also on a more shallow not our girl don’t age, so casting directors can do so much with her, not many actress our blessed with being able to be any age that is asked of them. Highschool age, college age, early – mid 20’s, early 30’s, and in her 40’s too lol

I know this was long and probably very unnecessary but I just like BL and what to see more of her.

Reply
Amari November 26, 2021 - 1:24 PM

Honestly, same! I thought I saw her cast in something for this spring but I apparently was mistaken :/

Reply

Questions, Comments or Difference of Opinion?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.