Pose: Season 2, Episode 5 “What Would Candy Do?” – Recap, Review (with Spoilers)

Elektra at a ball.
63.37% (1)

With the opportunity to dance for Madonna coming up, Elektra and Blanca show who they are as Damon and Ricky grow close, once again.


Network
FX
Director(s) Tina Mabry
Writer(s) Steven Canals
Air Date 7/16/2019

Images and text in this post may contain affiliate links which, if a purchase is made, we’ll earn money or products from the company. Affiliate links and external links have an upward facing, superscript, arrow.

Recap

A New Opportunity: Ricky, Blanca, Elektra, Damon, Helena

With Vogue dominating the charts, and Damon teaching classes, it is only natural that a scout would come about and want him for a tour. Unfortunately for him, though, a few things stand in his way. One being Ricky, and Elektra willing to do whatever, even break a foot, to be rubbing shoulders with Madonna.

But one of the bigger obstacles, surprisingly, might be Blanca. How and why? Well, while she sees this audition as a grand opportunity, Damon is one – one – semester away from getting his degree. So if Helena doesn’t approve, she plans on not supporting. Thing is, Helena gets it. She, like Damon, was given a grand opportunity to be seen by an audience usually not exposed to someone who looks like her, who represents the background she does. So when it comes to auditioning, she supports him going out there and being seen. Just as long as he comes back and finishes what they started after.

A Haus Is Not Always A Home: Ricky, Blanca, Elektra, Damon

Aside from the whole hammer situation, one of the things Elektra pushes is the idea she is a provider, not someone who will nurture and baby her children. She is not Blanca. Which pushes Ricky, and many of Elektra’s children, to realize, as we saw Blanca did in season 1, who they are living with. Now, whether that may lead to a new house eventually? Who knows? What is clear is that there is a stark different in Elektra and Blanca as mothers and Damon is smart, and lucky, Blanca found him for the love he receives from her drives him more than the metallic pump keeping Elekta alive.

Forgiven, Not Forgotten: Ricky, Damon

Damon walking away from Ricky.

While their families are hyping them up, battling it out, and stirring up drama, Ricky and Damon don’t really participate. After not being together for months, perhaps weeks, and a history which stretches out over years, being in close proximity has them thinking about the future – their future. Which for Ricky, considering how Elektra is, his most recent ex, and maybe him tired of being a ho, has him remembering his time with Damon fondly.

As for how Damon sees things? Don’t get me wrong, he misses him. It’s just he is just getting over the hill and the work, dancing, is making him happy. So he doesn’t want Ricky messing that up intentionally or by sheer stupidity. But what he does want to be is friends. Hence why, when the Madonna auditions don’t work out, and then end up with the opportunity to be on Solid Gold, Damon sticks up for Ricky. Also, when Ricky offers to start over, Damon offers his hand and not his lips. For starting over for him means friends. Not repeating their past.

Review

Highlights

It Was A Nice Light Episode After The Candy One

Between the focus being on Damon and Ricky, the sas coming out of House Wintour, and being an episode focused on dance, we got a nice reprieve. One which reminded us of Lil Papi and Angel waiting in the wings, as well as Angel’s career going strong, and we even got to see Helena. Someone whose face we haven’t seen since season 1, I want to say.

Teach The World Who You Are

Speaking of Helena, that one line she delivers, “Teach the world who you are” reminds you why representation is so important. She notes her time working in front of all-white theaters and look at her now. Working at the New School, accomplished, revered, and all because someone opened the door for her. Either someone who looks like her or someone who sought talent over skin tone.

Helena encouraging Damon.
Helena: Teach the world who you are.

In many ways, she reinforces what Blanca has been saying. The idea of bringing more than you but your people into your work. It is perhaps the driving force of what gets Elektra to back down. This idea that if one of us make it, then we may not need the Madonnas of the world but have one of our own to make way for us. Which isn’t to put down Madonna but note that an ally is usually only an ally as long as it suits them. And with them not being of a culture or people, there will come the point where they return to their privilege since they have that option.

Not to say they abandoned their fans, friends, and chosen family, but they have the option. That is compared to those like Damon who didn’t visit, but came from the Ball culture, was partly raised by a trans woman, and to who voguing isn’t a trend but was something which had long gave him validation and praise.

The Difference Between Mothas

I guess what I’m trying to say is, when it comes to Blanca, what she is raising are people who can be leaders of the community while Elektra is raising singular stars. The kind who may not outshine her, but will make her light more brilliant. And, honestly, as much as this episode seemed like another step back for Elektra, in terms of her making fun of House Evangelista, and Blanca’s looks, it just reinforces how deep diversity goes on this show.

Elektra noting she is a provider, not someone who hugs or gives pep talks.

For Pose could easily be a constant representation of us vs. them, but it breaks it down and shows the division that exists amongst the LGBTQ+ community. Something that is unfortunate, but reminds you these people are human. As Elektra notes, while a woman, she is not maternal. She’d rather be a provider and, like an old school father, throw money at problems and only give praise when you prove yourself to be a good investment. But, if you aren’t, she’d disown you like a coat she found out was made with imitation material.

Which we’ve seen when it comes to Candy, Lulu, and I’m sure other mothers are the same. Yet, then there is Blanca. Someone who may not live lavishly but has a huge heart and is so maternal you’d think she’d birth her children. And while the dichotomy of the two presents this idea of good and evil at times, you have to remember the age difference at play.

As noted many times in season 1, Elektra has some years on her. When she was coming up, while houses may have existed, they were not like they were in Blanca’s day. So her attitude is that of a past generation and what it took to survive. You didn’t baby, you made tough, hardened your children so the world’s stabs would hit hard rock or steel.

Blanca going for a hug.

That is, compared to as we see with Blanca, even the current generation of kids, where you are allowed to experience and express your emotions. Also, you are encouraged to do so. Which is all to say, since this is a borderline a rant, this episode renews your appreciation for how far the LGBTQ+ community has come where it isn’t just about survival but the possibility of thriving. Especially out loud and proud.

On The Fence

Am I Allowed To Say I Find This Ricky Thing A Bore?

Be it because Damon and Ricky are babies, or since their drama doesn’t go beyond their relationship, does anyone else feel they are boring in comparison to everyone else? They don’t have Pray Tell and Blanca’s issues with AIDS, they aren’t trans so they don’t have that angle, and unlike Lil’ Papi, there isn’t this sense they are these notable romantics. They are just two gay dancers with one being a straight-up twink in Damon and Ricky being a messy ho who sometimes wants to settle down.

Their plot is something straight out of FreeForm, and while it is appreciated, at least for this episode, I can see why neither have been heavily featured so far.

Follow Wherever I Look on Twitter, Like us on Facebook and Subscribe to the YouTube Channel.

Pose - Episode List

Character Guide

Not Created

Collected Quotes

Created

Purchase On/ Get A Free Trial Here

Current Status

Active

Season Reviews

Season 1

Season/ EpisodeSynopsisEpisode InformationTopics & Focused Characters
Season 2, Episode 9 “Life’s A Beach”Elektra becomes the mother and person we expected to see, after the time jump, as she takes her daughters out to recover from a harsh summer.
Director(s) Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s) Janet Mock, Our Lady J
Air Date 8/13/2019
Introduced This Episode
Adrian Austin Scott
  • My Name Is Blanca, And This Is My Rock Bottom: Frederica, Blanca
  • When You’re Good To Momma, Momma’s Good To You: Elektra, Blanca, Lulu, Angel
  • So This Is Love?: Adrian, Blanca, Angel, Elektra, Lulu, Candy
Season 2, Episode 10 "In My Heels" [Season Finale]You already know if Janet Mock is writing or directing you are going to be shedding tears. Add in she is doing the season finale? HA! Grab some tissues, we’re crying together.
Director(s) Janet Mock
Writer(s) Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date 8/20/2019
Introduced This Episode
Quincy KJ Aikens
Chilly Gia Parr
Jazmin Damaris Lewis
  • Blanca, Pray Tell, Elektra, Lulu, Angel, Lil Papi, Damon, Frederica | A Sickly Mother
  • Lil Papi, Ms. Ford, Angel, Jazmin | When In Doubt, Trust Papi
  • Angel, Lil Papi, Quincy, Chilly, Blanca, Elektra, Pray Tell | There Is More Than One Way To Tell A Happy Ending
Season 2, Episode 8 “Revelations”Line are crossed, secrets exposed, and children reveal themselves to be adults. Which, for Blanca, is one of the challenges she never prepped for.
Director(s) Steven Canals
Writer(s) Steven Canals
Air Date 8/6/2019
Introduced This Episode
Manhattan André Ward
Jack Jack Mizrahi
Castle J. Cameron Barnett
  • Progress For One May Not Be Progress For All:Pray Tell, Manhattan, Jack, Castle, Ricky, Damon, Helena, Blanca, Angel, Lil Papi
  • When The Shade Comes From Acid Rain: Blanca, Damon, Lil Papi, Angel, Blanca, Pray Tell, Ricky
  • They All Grow Up Eventually: Pray Tell, Ricky, Elektra, Blanca, Angel, Damon
Season 2, Episode 5 “What Would Candy Do?”With the opportunity to dance for Madonna coming up, Elektra and Blanca show who they are as Damon and Ricky grow close, once again.
Director(s) Tina Mabry
Writer(s) Steven Canals
Air Date 7/16/2019
  • A New Opportunity: Ricky, Blanca, Elektra, Damon, Helena
  • A Haus Is Not Always A Home: Ricky, Blanca, Elektra, Damon
  • Forgiven, Not Forgotten: Ricky, Damon
Season 2, Episode 6 “Love’s In Need of Love Today”“Love’s In Need of Love Today” is otherworldly in more ways than one as a death scare leads to Pray Tell seeing an old frenemy.
Director(s) Tina Mabry
Writer(s) Our Lady J, Brad Falchuk
Air Date 7/23/2019
  • If It Ain’t One Thing, It’s Another: Blanca, Pray Tell, Judy
  • Pray Tell, This Is Your Life: Candy, Costas, Pray Tell
  • Singing, Dancing, & A B*** Stealing Pearls:Frederica, Blanca, Pray Tell
Season 2, Episode 7 “Blow”Unlike many times before, the community comes together not when it is down or recoiling, but while standing tall, and with elders watching over them.
Director(s) Jennie Livingston
Writer(s) Janet Mock
Air Date 7/30/2019
  • The Children Need More Than Mothas, They Need Elders: Lulu, Elektra, Blanca, Pray Tell, Damon, Ricky
  • Blanca Might Be The Favorite, But She’s Grown Now: Lulu, Blanca, Pray Tell, Ricky
  • When We Come Together, It Will Be Joyous: Lil Papi, Angel, Federica, Blanca, Ms. Ford
Season 2, Episode 4 "Never Knew Love Like This Before"While Pose has always kept it real to the hairline, it decides to get a bit too real, and you may not be prepared for what comes.
Director(s) Ryan Murphy
Writer(s) Ryan Murphy, Janet Mock
Air Date 7/9/2019
Introduced This Episode
Darnell Danny Johnson
Vivica Patrice Johnson Chevannes
  • AZT For You & For Me: Blanca, Pray Tell, Judy
  • Sister, You Been On My Mind: Lulu, Candy, Blanca, Pray Tell, Angel, Darnell, Vivica
  • 10s Across The Board: Candy
Season 1/ Episode 1 “Pilot” [Series Premiere]Pose is so wonderful that you’ll wish Ryan Murphy and co. held this for Netflix so that we could get all the episodes in one sitting.
Creator Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Director(s) Ryan Murphy
Writer(s) Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date 6/3/2018
Noted Actors
Blanca Mj Rodriguez
Damon Ryan Jamaal Swain
Angel Indya Moore
Stan Evan Peters
Pray Tell Billy Porter
Season 1/ Episode 2 “Access”Finding a way to go beyond surviving but absolutely thriving is either what is pursued or talked about. Though for some, thriving is a suburban fairytale.
Director(s) Ryan Murphy
Writer(s) Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date 6/10/2018
Actors Introduced
Ricky Dyllon Burnside
Lil Papi Angel Bismark Curiel
Matt James Van Der Beek
  • A Whole New World: Ricky, Blanca, Damon, Lil’ Papi
  • I’ve Been Waiting For A Girl Like You: Stan, Angel, Matt
  • Pass The Baton: Elektra, Blanca
Season 1/ Episode 3 “Giving and Receiving”It’s Christmas time and as Elektra gives herself a gift, House of Evangelista makes sure everyone gets one. 
Director(s) Nelson Cragg
Writer(s) Janet Mock, Our Lady J
Air Date 6/17/2018
Actors Introduced
Tony Glamo
Costas Johnny Sibilly
Patty Kate Mara
  • Melting Away Like Snowflakes: Helena, Damon, Pray Tell, Blanca
  • A Fish With A Tail: Elektra
  • Merry Christmas: Matt, Stan, Angel, Blanca, Pray Tell, Damon, Ricky, Patty
Season 1/ Episode 4 “The Fever”Elektra and Pray Tell take center stage as realness becomes about more than just the physical but addressing how you feel and are inside.
Director(s) Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s) Janet Mock
Air Date 6/24/2018
Actors Introduced
Dick Ford Christopher Meloni
Aphrodite Alexia Garcia
Candy Angelica Ross
  • Fears and Insecurities: Damon, Candy, Ricky, Lil Papi, Blanca, Pray Tell, Elektra, Angel
  • Dissatisfaction With Being a Mistress: Stan, Angel
  • The Doctor Will See You Now: Pray Tell, Elektra, Blanca, Aphrodite, Dick Ford, Candy
Season 1/ Episode 5 “Mother’s Day”With news of Blanca’s biological mother dying, so comes a quest for reconciliation, even if some make it harder than others.
Director(s) Silas Howard
Writer(s) Steven Canals
Air Date 7/1/2018
Actors Introduced
Carmen Flor De Liz Perez
Alma Susanna Guzman
Manuel Gil Perez-Abraham
Mami Glenys Javier
Young Blanca Jayden Marine
  • Meet The Wife: Matt, Stan, Patty, Angel
  • A Mother Reborn: Elektra, Blanca, Candy, Lulu
  • The Path To Reconciliation: Blanca, Pray Tell, Carmen, Alma, Manuel
Season 1/ Episode 6 “Love Is The Message”Pray Tell gets center focus as we come upon the final days of his boyfriend, Costas. Though, we also get to see someone try to dust Blanca’s cobwebs.
Director(s) Janet Mock
Writer(s) Ryan Murphy, Janet Mock
Air Date 7/8/2018
Actors Introduced
Judy Sandra Bernhard
Darius Charles Brice
  • The Fall of Stan Bowes: Patty, Matt, Stan, Angel
  • Mama May Get Some Beef: Blanca, Darius, Lulu, Candy
  • In His Final Days, He Made Me Promise To Love: Blanca, Pray Tell, Costas, Judy
Season 1/ Episode 7 “Pink Slip”As the House of Abundance falls, a new house rises from the ashes. One which takes advantage of what either could be seen as a mistake or right decision by Blanca.
Director(s) Tina Mabry
Writer(s) Our Lady J, Steven Canals
Air Date 7/15/2018
  • Laying Down The Law: Blanca, Lil Papi, Ricky
  • As the Phoenix Dies, New Ones Rise From The Ashes: Elektra, Lulu, Candy, Mr. Ford
  • The End of One Relationship & Start Of Something New: Lil Papi, Angel, Stan, Blanca, Elektra, Lulu, Candy
Season 1/ Episode 8 “Mother of the Year” [Season Finale]The final category is: Mother of the Year and considering all Blanca has done for her children, even her mother, will she win or will there always be next year?
Director(s) Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s) Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date 7/22/2018
Actors Introduced
Keenan Blake Morris
  • Love Never Dies: Blanca, Keenan, Pray Tell
  • Family Is Forever: Elektra, Blanca, Angel, Stan, Patty
  • Mother of the Year: Blanca, Lulu, Candy, Pray Tell, Elektra
Season 2, Episode 2 “Worth It”After a long period, years, of making herself smaller, Elektra is reborn. As that happens, Blanca too reaches new heights as she finally opens her nail salon.
Director(s) Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s) Janet Mock
Air Date 6/18/2019
Introduced This Episode
Ms. Norman Patti LuPone
  • She Works Hard For Her Money, So She Expects Luxury:Elektra
  • It Was Due To Happen: Damon, Ricky, Lil Papi, Angel
  • Everything’s Coming Up Blanca!: Ms. Norman, Blanca, Pray Tell, Damon, Ricky
Season 2, Episode 3 “Butterfly/Cocoon”As we are given multiple reasons to celebrate, there is one major blemish that will likely ruin the in-house parade you’ll be having.
Director(s) Janet Mock
Writer(s) Our Lady J
Air Date 6/25/2019
Introduced This Episode
Euphoria Peppermint
Ms. Orlando Cecilia Gentili
  • Don’t Tell The Boss, The Client Is Dead!: Euphoria, Ms. Orlando, Elektra, Blanca, Candy
  • Wet N’ Wild: Ms. Ford, Papi, Angel
  • A Papi After My Own Heart: Papi, Angel
Season 2, Episode 1 “Acting Up” [Season Premiere]The ladies of Pose return, and with the AIDS crisis in full effect, those who aren’t about the community and taking advantage of “Vogue” giving spotlight are called out.
Director(s) Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s) Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date 6/11/2019
  • Someone Must Speak For The Dead: Judy, Pray Tell, Blanca
  • It Can’t All Be Sacrifice: Angel, Lil Papi, Blanca
  • Not All Queer Folk Are Kin Folk: Pray Tell, Elektra, Blanca, Candy, Lulu

How Would You Rate This?

Negative Mixed Positive

|

1 COMMENT

  1. I know you are already onto the next episode, but I am (obviously) behind. I just recently watched this episode. I want to say that I LOL to your “they are boring in comparison to everyone else” question. The answer is YES! In fact, I know that you appreciated the lightness of this episode after the heaviness of the last one. But I felt let down at the end of this episode, and I think it was because the previous episode, like so many of this season’s, have been so strong and topical, and this one was just too light and a bit too dull for me. Damon and Ricky are going to be just friends. O.k. (yawn). Versus Candy was murdered by a racist, homophobic john. Or there is an island where those who died of AIDS and were unclaimed by friends or relatives are buried by guys in hazmat suits. Or Blanca and Pray Tell now have full-blown AIDS and have to start taking AZT. Damon and Ricky just don’t hold my interest like those other story lines do, even with Elektra imitating Tonya Harding.

Questions, Comments, or Opposing Opinion?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.