TV Series

Pose: Season 2, Episode 3 “Butterfly/Cocoon” – Recap, Review (with Spoilers)

Community Rating: 66.76% (2) | How This Number is Tabulated

As we are given multiple reasons to celebrate, there is one major blemish that will likely ruin the in-house parade you’ll be having.


Network
FX
Director(s)Janet Mock
Writer(s)Our Lady J
Air Date6/25/2019
Introduced This Episode
EuphoriaPeppermint
Ms. OrlandoCecilia Gentili

Images and text in this post may contain affiliate links which, if a purchase is made, we’ll earn money or products from the company. Affiliate links and external links have an upward facing, superscript, arrow.

Don’t Tell The Boss, The Client Is Dead!: Euphoria, Ms. Orlando, Elektra, Blanca, Candy

Well, remember that freaky young man who liked to do drugs while beaten by Elektra? He dies. One of the drugs he consumes, coke, poppers, who knows what else, causes him to OD and he ends up choking on his own vomit while in a sex swing. This leads to Elektra going to the only one she knows she can rely on, Blanca, but when she doesn’t give the answer she wants she goes to Candy.

This leads to Candy going to Euphoria for some third party advice since Blanca is for calling the cops and Candy thinks that is one of the dumbest things to come out of Blanca’s mouth. So, as for what Euphoria says? She makes it clear the cops won’t do anything to help Elektra, whether she has her gender confirmation or not. So, Ms. Orlando, who gave Candy bad injections, they go to her to handle the body, and that is just what they do.

Wet N’ Wild: Ms. Ford, Papi, Angel

Ms. Ford and Angel have a bit of an uneasy relationship. She is a gatekeeper, and Angel isn’t desperate to cross over but doesn’t hide her interest. Making her, originally, being rejected hard to handle. Yet, with Papi’s encouragement, and love, a kiss included, Angel rebounds from feelings of rejection. But, the rejection doesn’t last for long, at least for her. For within a few days, or weeks, Ms. Ford calls and offers Angel the chance to do a campaign for Wet N’ Wild lipsticks and get her face in pharmacies across the country.

A Papi After My Own Heart: Papi, Angel

However, the cost of all this seems to be Papi’s affections. You see, Papi says he has loved Angel since they met and while he understands and supports her choosing her career over him, on a pre-planned date night, he is hurt. Yet, that one incident isn’t enough to squash his affections. He still has feelings, and I’m talking feelings beyond what Angel is used to with the idea that good chemistry means let’s have sex. Papi wants something real which is something foreign to Angel. Especially after her situation with old boy in season 1 who seemed more curious about Angel’s life and who she is than wanting to truly be with her.

Other Noteworthy Facts & Moments

  • It Is May 1st, 1990 as of the beginning of this episode.

Highlights

Papi & Angel

When it comes to media featuring trans women, unfortunately, there isn’t a huge amount of romance. Even in director Janet Mock’s books, until she met her husband Aaron, there was maybe one or two real romances, and those were a bit sketchy. As for the rest? They were like what we saw with Angel in season 1, and what she was willing to initiate after kissing Papi. Heck, another example would be Gun Hill Road and the relationship in that movie.

So, taking into consideration what is sadly common, you have to love someone like Papi genuinely in love and wanting to romance Angel. Not in the sense of buying her but wanting as much to be worthy of her as much as share her with the world. So the world too can know her greatness.

Angel's Wet n' Wild campaign ad.

Blanca & Elektra

While Elektra has a volatile personality, what you have to appreciate is that whenever things go south, she knows she can run to Blanca. For even after she stormed out, there is something to their relationship which allows for healing – if enough time passes. Making it so you really come to realize the whole mother, daughter, and terms similar aren’t just to show affection but are as they see one another. Since, for better or worse, they each have assumed that role, and as chosen family, while it may give them an easier out to abandon one another, their survival makes it where it is in neither person’s interest to do so.

Close Ranks

With the balls and houses often being places of competition and shade, it is easy to forget sometimes the whole purpose of the systems made is to create a sense of family, unity, and safety. So it was really beautiful that despite what Elektra has done, how selfish she has been, even she wasn’t left to her own devices when in need. In fact, granted for a whole lot of money, many dropped what they were doing to give advice or get their hands dirty.

Some Relief From The Aids Crisis

While this wasn’t a comical episode at all, it is nice to be reminded, even if it requires some madness, there is some chance or ability for these women to survive. It may not be easy, but being presented with one less reminded how challenging things are provided some momentary relief.

Follow Wherever I Look on Twitter, Like us on Facebook and Subscribe to the YouTube Channel.

Pose - Episode List

Character Guide

Not Created

Collected Quotes

Created

Purchase On/ Get A Free Trial Here

Current Status

Active

Season Reviews

Season 1

Season/ EpisodeSynopsisEpisode InformationTopics & Focused Characters
Season 2, Episode 9 “Life’s A Beach”Elektra becomes the mother and person we expected to see, after the time jump, as she takes her daughters out to recover from a harsh summer.
Director(s)Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s)Janet Mock, Our Lady J
Air Date8/13/2019
Introduced This Episode
AdrianAustin Scott
  • My Name Is Blanca, And This Is My Rock Bottom: Frederica, Blanca
  • When You’re Good To Momma, Momma’s Good To You: Elektra, Blanca, Lulu, Angel
  • So This Is Love?: Adrian, Blanca, Angel, Elektra, Lulu, Candy
Season 2, Episode 10 "In My Heels" [Season Finale]You already know if Janet Mock is writing or directing you are going to be shedding tears. Add in she is doing the season finale? HA! Grab some tissues, we’re crying together.
Director(s)Janet Mock
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date8/20/2019
Introduced This Episode
QuincyKJ Aikens
ChillyGia Parr
JazminDamaris Lewis
  • Blanca, Pray Tell, Elektra, Lulu, Angel, Lil Papi, Damon, Frederica | A Sickly Mother
  • Lil Papi, Ms. Ford, Angel, Jazmin | When In Doubt, Trust Papi
  • Angel, Lil Papi, Quincy, Chilly, Blanca, Elektra, Pray Tell | There Is More Than One Way To Tell A Happy Ending
Season 2, Episode 8 “Revelations”Line are crossed, secrets exposed, and children reveal themselves to be adults. Which, for Blanca, is one of the challenges she never prepped for.
Director(s)Steven Canals
Writer(s)Steven Canals
Air Date8/6/2019
Introduced This Episode
ManhattanAndré Ward
JackJack Mizrahi
CastleJ. Cameron Barnett
  • Progress For One May Not Be Progress For All:Pray Tell, Manhattan, Jack, Castle, Ricky, Damon, Helena, Blanca, Angel, Lil Papi
  • When The Shade Comes From Acid Rain: Blanca, Damon, Lil Papi, Angel, Blanca, Pray Tell, Ricky
  • They All Grow Up Eventually: Pray Tell, Ricky, Elektra, Blanca, Angel, Damon
Season 2, Episode 5 “What Would Candy Do?”With the opportunity to dance for Madonna coming up, Elektra and Blanca show who they are as Damon and Ricky grow close, once again.
Director(s)Tina Mabry
Writer(s)Steven Canals
Air Date7/16/2019
  • A New Opportunity: Ricky, Blanca, Elektra, Damon, Helena
  • A Haus Is Not Always A Home: Ricky, Blanca, Elektra, Damon
  • Forgiven, Not Forgotten: Ricky, Damon
Season 2, Episode 6 “Love’s In Need of Love Today”“Love’s In Need of Love Today” is otherworldly in more ways than one as a death scare leads to Pray Tell seeing an old frenemy.
Director(s)Tina Mabry
Writer(s)Our Lady J, Brad Falchuk
Air Date7/23/2019
  • If It Ain’t One Thing, It’s Another: Blanca, Pray Tell, Judy
  • Pray Tell, This Is Your Life: Candy, Costas, Pray Tell
  • Singing, Dancing, & A B*** Stealing Pearls:Frederica, Blanca, Pray Tell
Season 2, Episode 7 “Blow”Unlike many times before, the community comes together not when it is down or recoiling, but while standing tall, and with elders watching over them.
Director(s)Jennie Livingston
Writer(s)Janet Mock
Air Date7/30/2019
  • The Children Need More Than Mothas, They Need Elders: Lulu, Elektra, Blanca, Pray Tell, Damon, Ricky
  • Blanca Might Be The Favorite, But She’s Grown Now: Lulu, Blanca, Pray Tell, Ricky
  • When We Come Together, It Will Be Joyous: Lil Papi, Angel, Federica, Blanca, Ms. Ford
Season 2, Episode 4 "Never Knew Love Like This Before"While Pose has always kept it real to the hairline, it decides to get a bit too real, and you may not be prepared for what comes.
Director(s)Ryan Murphy
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Janet Mock
Air Date7/9/2019
Introduced This Episode
DarnellDanny Johnson
VivicaPatrice Johnson Chevannes
  • AZT For You & For Me: Blanca, Pray Tell, Judy
  • Sister, You Been On My Mind: Lulu, Candy, Blanca, Pray Tell, Angel, Darnell, Vivica
  • 10s Across The Board: Candy
Season 1/ Episode 1 “Pilot” [Series Premiere]Pose is so wonderful that you’ll wish Ryan Murphy and co. held this for Netflix so that we could get all the episodes in one sitting.
CreatorRyan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Director(s)Ryan Murphy
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date6/3/2018
Noted Actors
BlancaMj Rodriguez
DamonRyan Jamaal Swain
AngelIndya Moore
StanEvan Peters
Pray TellBilly Porter
Season 1/ Episode 2 “Access”Finding a way to go beyond surviving but absolutely thriving is either what is pursued or talked about. Though for some, thriving is a suburban fairytale.
Director(s)Ryan Murphy
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date6/10/2018
Actors Introduced
RickyDyllon Burnside
Lil PapiAngel Bismark Curiel
MattJames Van Der Beek
  • A Whole New World: Ricky, Blanca, Damon, Lil’ Papi
  • I’ve Been Waiting For A Girl Like You: Stan, Angel, Matt
  • Pass The Baton: Elektra, Blanca
Season 1/ Episode 3 “Giving and Receiving”It’s Christmas time and as Elektra gives herself a gift, House of Evangelista makes sure everyone gets one. 
Director(s)Nelson Cragg
Writer(s)Janet Mock, Our Lady J
Air Date6/17/2018
Actors Introduced
TonyGlamo
CostasJohnny Sibilly
PattyKate Mara
  • Melting Away Like Snowflakes: Helena, Damon, Pray Tell, Blanca
  • A Fish With A Tail: Elektra
  • Merry Christmas: Matt, Stan, Angel, Blanca, Pray Tell, Damon, Ricky, Patty
Season 1/ Episode 4 “The Fever”Elektra and Pray Tell take center stage as realness becomes about more than just the physical but addressing how you feel and are inside.
Director(s)Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s)Janet Mock
Air Date6/24/2018
Actors Introduced
Dick FordChristopher Meloni
AphroditeAlexia Garcia
CandyAngelica Ross
  • Fears and Insecurities: Damon, Candy, Ricky, Lil Papi, Blanca, Pray Tell, Elektra, Angel
  • Dissatisfaction With Being a Mistress: Stan, Angel
  • The Doctor Will See You Now: Pray Tell, Elektra, Blanca, Aphrodite, Dick Ford, Candy
Season 1/ Episode 5 “Mother’s Day”With news of Blanca’s biological mother dying, so comes a quest for reconciliation, even if some make it harder than others.
Director(s)Silas Howard
Writer(s)Steven Canals
Air Date7/1/2018
Actors Introduced
CarmenFlor De Liz Perez
AlmaSusanna Guzman
ManuelGil Perez-Abraham
MamiGlenys Javier
Young BlancaJayden Marine
  • Meet The Wife: Matt, Stan, Patty, Angel
  • A Mother Reborn: Elektra, Blanca, Candy, Lulu
  • The Path To Reconciliation: Blanca, Pray Tell, Carmen, Alma, Manuel
Season 1/ Episode 6 “Love Is The Message”Pray Tell gets center focus as we come upon the final days of his boyfriend, Costas. Though, we also get to see someone try to dust Blanca’s cobwebs.
Director(s)Janet Mock
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Janet Mock
Air Date7/8/2018
Actors Introduced
JudySandra Bernhard
DariusCharles Brice
  • The Fall of Stan Bowes: Patty, Matt, Stan, Angel
  • Mama May Get Some Beef: Blanca, Darius, Lulu, Candy
  • In His Final Days, He Made Me Promise To Love: Blanca, Pray Tell, Costas, Judy
Season 1/ Episode 7 “Pink Slip”As the House of Abundance falls, a new house rises from the ashes. One which takes advantage of what either could be seen as a mistake or right decision by Blanca.
Director(s)Tina Mabry
Writer(s)Our Lady J, Steven Canals
Air Date7/15/2018
  • Laying Down The Law: Blanca, Lil Papi, Ricky
  • As the Phoenix Dies, New Ones Rise From The Ashes: Elektra, Lulu, Candy, Mr. Ford
  • The End of One Relationship & Start Of Something New: Lil Papi, Angel, Stan, Blanca, Elektra, Lulu, Candy
Season 1/ Episode 8 “Mother of the Year” [Season Finale]The final category is: Mother of the Year and considering all Blanca has done for her children, even her mother, will she win or will there always be next year?
Director(s)Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date7/22/2018
Actors Introduced
KeenanBlake Morris
  • Love Never Dies: Blanca, Keenan, Pray Tell
  • Family Is Forever: Elektra, Blanca, Angel, Stan, Patty
  • Mother of the Year: Blanca, Lulu, Candy, Pray Tell, Elektra
Season 2, Episode 2 “Worth It”After a long period, years, of making herself smaller, Elektra is reborn. As that happens, Blanca too reaches new heights as she finally opens her nail salon.
Director(s)Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s)Janet Mock
Air Date6/18/2019
Introduced This Episode
Ms. NormanPatti LuPone
  • She Works Hard For Her Money, So She Expects Luxury:Elektra
  • It Was Due To Happen: Damon, Ricky, Lil Papi, Angel
  • Everything’s Coming Up Blanca!: Ms. Norman, Blanca, Pray Tell, Damon, Ricky
Season 2, Episode 3 “Butterfly/Cocoon”As we are given multiple reasons to celebrate, there is one major blemish that will likely ruin the in-house parade you’ll be having.
Director(s)Janet Mock
Writer(s)Our Lady J
Air Date6/25/2019
Introduced This Episode
EuphoriaPeppermint
Ms. OrlandoCecilia Gentili
  • Don’t Tell The Boss, The Client Is Dead!: Euphoria, Ms. Orlando, Elektra, Blanca, Candy
  • Wet N’ Wild: Ms. Ford, Papi, Angel
  • A Papi After My Own Heart: Papi, Angel
Season 2, Episode 1 “Acting Up” [Season Premiere]The ladies of Pose return, and with the AIDS crisis in full effect, those who aren’t about the community and taking advantage of “Vogue” giving spotlight are called out.
Director(s)Gwyneth Horder-Payton
Writer(s)Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals
Air Date6/11/2019
  • Someone Must Speak For The Dead: Judy, Pray Tell, Blanca
  • It Can’t All Be Sacrifice: Angel, Lil Papi, Blanca
  • Not All Queer Folk Are Kin Folk: Pray Tell, Elektra, Blanca, Candy, Lulu

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.



What Would Your Rating Be?

Negative Mixed Positive
Negative  (0%) Mixed  (0%) Positive  (100%)

You Can Find The Podcast On All Major Platforms



Amari Allah

I started Wherever I Look back in 2011 and have aimed to be that friend who loves watching various forms of media and talking about it. So, from bias, strong opinions, and a perspective you may not have thought about, you'll find that in our reviews.

3 Comments

  1. All good points!! First, the story line totally did not belong with the rest of the show, which now that I think about it, is another reason why I wasn’t into it. It was very soap opera-ish on a show that strives to be realistic and not like a soap opera. And it didn’t even occur to me how easily they were moving that body around in a suitcase on foot (while in heels, no less!), so they could have walked it to somewhere that they could have safely dumped it at 4:00 in the morning. I’m usually good at suspending disbelief, but this story line was just so out of place for Pose that I could not just “go with it”, which was disappointing for a show as consistently excellent as Pose.

  2. Poor Papi – He just broke my heart! I would have given my left arm to hear a guy say those things to me that Papi said to Angel! And Angel still didn’t fall for him! Yet at the same time I was so happy for Angel and her success. I knew she wouldn’t win the competition because she wasn’t white (sad, but true). However, getting the Wet N’ Wild campaign was such an awesome consolation prize!

    For some reason, I wasn’t into Elektra’s story line. I found how she went to Blanca and then later protected her heartwarming. Same with how everyone came together to protect Elektra. And Euphoria’s story was maddening! But I guess none of them own a car or know someone they can borrow a car from so thus they couldn’t put the body in the trunk and drive it somewhere deserted to bury it – because that’s what I kept wondering the ENTIRE time they were cocooning.

    1. But that’s the weird thing to me. If they moved him by suitcase to her apartment, why not just dump said suitcase in a river or near the island where they put those with aids?

      I get it was based off a true story but, it seemed out of place compared to the rest of the show. As if we’re watching what could be a soap opera.

Questions, Comments or Difference of Opinion?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button